New PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2004, 05:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

i suggest getting a 10k rpm WD Raptor which can be either 36 or 74 gb. u can partition it in to 2 and use 1 partition for your OS n programs. the other partition can b used for games. ur OS, programs and games will load a lot faster. then u can get a larger capacity hdd 4 storage of other data. get them both SATA.
__________________

__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 06:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ $267

Gigabyte K8NSNXP-939 $184 - IMO the best socket 939 board out there

Corsair PC3200XL 2-2-2-5 - faster than XMS $261

PNY 6800 GT 256MB $368 overclocked stock speeds, and lifetime warranty

Sony 21" 2048x1536 multisync $119 - not new but still great

Seagate 200GB SATA $122

Pioneer 108 16x DVD±R/RW Dual Layer $70

Logitech X220 speakers $30

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS $46

Microsoft Windows XP Pro OEM $130

total = $1597
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 06:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RangerX
Here's one review showing how much better 2 video cards is then one.
http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2258
*drools* wow that really makes me want to get SLI now
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 03:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

^ bump! ^

^_^
GageMW is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 05:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Buddy, if you can be convinced either way, then I'd definately go with a Pentium 4. A Pentium 4 560 @ 3.6 GHz (stock) would be your best choice. You should use an Abit AA8-DuraMAX board which is the one I use (it does some major overclocking) or the extreme Abit AA8-Fatality. The DuraMAX is still high-end though except it uses the 925X chipset instead of the 925XE. You should get a GeForce 6800GT 256MB and everything else said above. Get some SATA drives instead of IDE/UATA because the DuraMAX only has one IDE controller and 4 SATA, so that will be a bind.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 12:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

therein lies the problem with an intel in this system, they are WAY more expensive, and i only have $1600
GageMW is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 03:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

then don't get a 3.6ghz, get something like a 3.2 and oc it. way cheaper.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 09:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

did you know that the Pentium 4's cannot process every 32-bit instruction there is?
the Sempron can process all 32-bit instructions, and it's AMD's version of the Celeron, which mind you does give pretty descent performance
the Athlon 64's can not only process all 32-bit instructions, but they can process 64-bit instructions too, plus they are less expensive than Pentium 4's

3.2GHZ P4: $380 aus (socket 478) or $355 (socket 775)
Athlon 64 3200+ socket 939: $299
at www.scorptec.com.au

Intel have got to 3.6GHZ so far, whereas Athlon 64's have got the 4000+ and FX-55

now I don't want to start a flame war with anybody, so I'll say what's fair: Pentium 4's do perform well, and are a descent CPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 11:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

So no other complete systems like PizzatheHut06's?
if not, setting up deal for best of what i can afford based on all suggestions,
thanks guys!
GageMW is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 11:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

quick question thats OT, does xp pro give a visible preformance boost or drain? or make it easier/harder to OC?
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.