New PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2004, 05:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default New PC

Hi there,

I'm planing to build my own PC by buying the below hardware. I would welcome any suggestion if you have any bad or good experience with the hardware.

Processor : AMD Athlon XP 2600 + / 512K / 333Mhz
Mainboard: Asus A7N8-X
Hard Disk : Seagate 80GB Barracuda / 7200RPM
Memory : Kingston 512MB PC 3200 DDR400
Display Card : Nvidia GeForce FX5200 128MB
Floppy / CD-ROM / DVD-ROM / CD-RW - Sony

Thanks a lot friends.

navin is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37

em... no one to suggest or comments??

navin is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 08:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260

You really don't need a CD ROM when you going to get the DVD ROM. That would be 3 drives including the burner. Two is plenty. You should have a DVD ROM and a DVD burner, which will do both CD and DVD burning. No need to DVD Burner if you won't be burning DVD though.
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149

Are you going to play many games ?
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 10:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194

It looks like a good system, if you are doing any gaming I might suggest using an ATI video card but the nVidia will work just fun for most games. 512MBs will be enough memory for most applications but be aware more would not hurt. either 768 or 1024MBs would be the most I would do. Also do not be alarmed when the PC3200 does not work at that speed. If the processor has a FSB of 333MHz then the memory will run at this speed too. I might suggest dropping down to PC2700 memory just to match the FSB speed unless you plan on overclocking then the current configuration will work fine.
Crucial Performance Lab
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 10:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900

Interesting point CrucialLabs. I was thinking about building a similar system, but I didn't know that about the RAM. Is it harmful for the system to use the PC 3200, or are you recommending PC 2700 simply because you would be paying for something you couldn't use with the PC 3200? I'm asking because I already have 512 MB of PC 3200 RAM with an XP 2500+.
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 02:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

that is correct, you would be wasting the extra money on the pc3200 when you could just buy the 2700, unless you were planing on upgrading the cpu to match the ram soon. also what is the diff numbers compared to fsb. ie, on and so on.
compy is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37

wau.. thanks guys for all the reply. regarding on the ram i might downgrade to 2700 as suggested and normally i would play soccer mgmt game namely championship manager 4.
a question here, would ATI card beat nVidia card any time?? lets compare a 128MB one.
navin is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

well, i think they both equal up as good cards, i would say it comes down to what you are going to use it for and what features you want on it.
compy is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

hey im thinkin of buildin a similar system for playin games, will it be able to cope

AMD 2600xp
512 pc3200 (possebly 2700 now)
Gigabyte 128 9600 XTG
dvd rw 4x
dvd rom
120gig SATA 8meg segate
Gigabyte 7vt600f mobo

AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.