New Office setup - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2005, 05:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Maybe you guys should have a closer look at it...Turns out this PSU is OEMd to Antec.

EDIT: And how is this motherboard? Gigabyte GA-K8NS nForce3 250:

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=241757
__________________

Orange is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Thats a good mobo. About PSUs, there is a basic rule

Antec = GREAT
Thermaltake = GREAT
OCZ = GREAT
Ennermax = GREAT
Ultra = GREAT (at least my X-Connect is)

Everything else = SH*T

hope that clarifys everything.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 11:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
hope that clarifys everything.
Well, it dosen't actually. So because it doesn't have the name "Antec" on it (yet it is OEMd to Antec) makes it crap? hmm...

Anyway, unless someone can provide a link to a better, cheaper, PSU with at least 24 Amps off the +12V Rail with PFC, I am going to purchase that one. I know many will not agree, but seeing its OEMd to Antec I don't see anything wrong.
Orange is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 12:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Here is a much better PSU in my opinion. http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16817148001 Its $2.50 more, and its well worth it. Its rated at 500 Watts with 34A on the +12V Rail. I have the 520 Watt Aspire PSU in my system, and it runs flawlessly. Aside from whats listed below, it also powers 3 lighted led fans, 4 cold cathodes, and a small fan controller. I also like the fact that the power cables are long and sleeved, it keeps it looking a lot neater inside the case. They're all highly reviewed, but not top of the line in some peoples opinion. But if I were to build another system I would go with them again. But again its your choice, who knows the PSU you listed could be great.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 12:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

If you are only going to be running ofice type apps on this baby, you may want to look at Semprons/Celerons. Both are sub-par, but can handle the text heavy office stuff with ease, even if they will be a tad slower on the other stuff. but, since it's not for gaming...

Also, if you can get two hard drives to set up in RAID 1, do it. By mirroring your hard drive, you have a complete back-up in case the worst happens.

Be sure that you have a good firewall and anti-virus. No sense in spending good money on this stuff to just let anything and everything crawl into it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 09:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter

Also, if you can get two hard drives to set up in RAID 1, do it. By mirroring your hard drive, you have a complete back-up in case the worst happens.
important thing to remember, RAID 1 is no substitute for backups, don't forget to make regular backups

RAID 1 is great when one of the drive fails since you can rebuild the mirror and you are going again, but it will do nothing for things like data corruption, and if both drives were to fail at once, you lost everything.
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 09:32 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

And there is really no point in getting RAID 0, if u were thinking of doing so. It doesnt provide any backup whatsoever.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 11:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Ok, one more question for you guys:

Which CPU + Mobo combo will be better for office use?

Mobo = http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=241757
CPU = http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...103-486&DEPA=1

OR THIS

Mobo =
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813128285
CPU = http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16819116204

I need this system to perform as good as my dell4700 which has a P4 @ 2.8ghz with HT, 256mb ram, 40 gig HDD, onboard video.

I will be using one of the above combos with 512mb ram, 80 gig HDD, radeon 9250. So which combo is better and is it capable of performing as good as the dell4700?
Orange is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 11:45 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Error: u didnt list the AMD CPU :P

Also, if u want to go AMD, go for socket 939, not 754. As for office use, people will prolly say intel, but i would go with AMD. its only a tad slower than Intel at multitasking and its cheaper.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 11:53 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Ok, one more question for you guys:

Which CPU + Mobo combo will be better for office use?

Mobo = http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ductCode=241757
CPU = http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ductCode=241757

OR THIS

Mobo =
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Prod...N82E16813128285
CPU = http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Prod...82E16819116204

I need this system to perform as good as my dell4700 which has a P4 @ 2.8ghz with HT, 256mb ram, 40 gig HDD, onboard video.
The link for the AMD CPU went back to the mobo for me

If you decide to go the pentium route, the mobo and CPU you listed are NOT compatible. The mobo is socket 478 and the CPU is 775. Also, that CPU is only 533fsb. I would go with the two below. This will be a big jump over what you listed for minimal cost increase and is socket 775, meaning you could go 64-bit if you ever desire and has the 800fsb.

mobo - http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813131532
CPU - http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16819116185
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.