New Office setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2005, 08:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default New Office setup

First off, I'm new to these forums. This looks like a nice friendly environment where I can recieve good computer assistance. Anyway, my office computer finally crapped out on me after 5 years, and I need a new one ASAP. Here is what I've been thinking about purchasing, I just want to make sure I'm not making any mistakes. Just let me know if all this hardware is compatible and is reliable. This computer needs to be very reliable. No gaming will be done on this computer.









So if anyone can provide me with any advice on the hardware I have selected, it will be greatly appretiated. I will check these forums constantly throughout the day. Thanks everyone!

Orange is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Don't get the motherboard, MSI or dfi are the way to go there are other good makes as well, but you want the big names like MSI, DFI or Abit.
You have chosen the most reliable make harddrvie, you might want to go for sata though, maybe even get anouther and put it in RAID1 (extra reliability)

I can't see a psu.... For reliabilty and safety as well, get Antec, Thermaletake or ocz.

It is all compatible though (apart from no psu, but that is a wrong link by the looks of it.)


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Ok. Here's what I need you to do. I want you to give me a budget of how much you are willing to spend on this PC (Complete) alsop take into consideration for Shipping & Handling.

Then tell me what this PC will be responsible for. What Appz you are going to run. You get the idea.

Post those things, and I can really help build the best PC for your office. (You want FutureProof, Reliable, Fast!!!)

I've been building PC's for clients for Office use for the last 2 years. So i've got some experience...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 01:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8

Sorry about the PSU, here's the fixed link:

As for the budget, I'm not looking to exceed $525 US dollars with shipping included. The system I posted above will cost me about $520 shipped. I do not want to exceed that. I already have a nice 19 inch CRT monitor from my old pc. I will be using Windows XP Home Edition.

I will be running programs such as Microsoft Office (Excel, word, powerpoint, etc.), Internet, E-mail, and working with a lot of pictures. I will be doing very little photo editing, if any at all.

I am just tired of my pc crashing and taking things forever to load. I need a fast, reliable PC that will last me at least a few years.
Orange is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Why AMD Athlon 64 if there will be no gaming other than trying to keep the cost down?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

For office apps, u might be better with a pentium CPU, or maybe even a Xeon. Also, if u want a really sturdy well built, reliable case, go for this Lian Li
sure, its expensive, but its great.

Id also suggest a larger hard drive, like a 120, or maybe even a 160 gig. As for PSU, that one is crap. Try this thermaltake:

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 01:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241

most reliable make hard drive? don't remember seeing Western Digital on that list lol

check out this drive,
at least it comes with a 5 year warranrty instead of 3 year on the Western Digital drive. 2 more years is worth $8 more in my opinion
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 01:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Okay your completly off in this PC, yeah for office I would go intel, but on the other hand AMD is cooler and more reliable now, so I guess I would do that.

The motherboard needs to go, DFI or MSI (MSI K8N Neo 2) is a good recomendation

Power supply, thermaltake td-420AD, cheap, reliable, powerful
EDIT: It's the power supply listed above.

Since you want reliable, run your hard drives in RAID 1 or do at least a weekly data backup (or a combo of both)

Having stuff on one hard drive is not a good idea, and having it in the same PC isnt that good of an idea either
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8

Okay thanks for the reply's guys, however maybe I didn't make myself clear enough: I don't have that much money to spend. $525 maximum with shipping. I understand a 120 gig HDD will improve my system, but I just simply don't have the money. But would a SATA HDD use the same connectors as the one I originally posted? I know little about SATA.

Considering the PC I'm working on now only has a 20 gig HDD, 128mb RAM, running on a PIII CPU, with windows98, and integrated video, I think this system will be a huge difference to what I am working with now.

And why is the PSU I listed crap? It has dual +12V rails combined at 32A off the +12V. Maybe I'm missing something...but for the price I think it's very good.

And I understand a P4 with HT will be better than the AMD 64 3000, but once again it comes down to money. Unless someone can compile a better system with what little money I have, I might just buy what I posted.
Orange is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 03:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by Orange

And why is the PSU I listed crap? It has dual +12V rails combined at 32A off the +12V. Maybe I'm missing something...but for the price I think it's very good.

Ratings without a record dont hold anything. That's some no name PSU.

If you ever buy a good PSU like the thermaltake, learn abit about electronics and take a good PSU and a cheap (of the same "watts") apart. You will see a big quality difference.

Search google for reviews on both, their's a reason why we all scream THERMALTAKE

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.