New or no? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2004, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Question New or no?

I plan on getting a new Mobo That supports PC3200 Ram and getting 2-4 gigs of it and at the same purchasing a new processor probably 3.2 ghz HT P4. My questions is if i purchase the new processor will i notice i big difference between 2 gig of PC3200 ram with the 3.2 ghz Processor in gaming over my 1 gig of PC2700 with that processor?
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: New or no?

Quote:
Originally posted by DyNaStY336
I plan on getting a new Mobo That supports PC3200 Ram and getting 2-4 gigs of it and at the same purchasing a new processor probably 3.2 ghz HT P4. My questions is if i purchase the new processor will i notice i big difference between 2 gig of PC3200 ram with the 3.2 ghz Processor in gaming over my 1 gig of PC2700 with that processor?
No, I don't think you will see much of a difference between them....

I'd just go with 1gig of DDR400 and the new CPU for now and if you are gonna due heavy duty video editing and stuff then get the otehr gig of ddr400
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

Merlin i was really hoping you would be the one to reply because you really seem to know what you are talking about. The problem is that my current mother board only supports PC2700 which i have a gig of, i was essensially going to get the new board for the fast that it will support PC3200 Ram. Do you still think i shouldn't worry about it to much and get the new processor?
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

were u the one who had the hp 250n ? if so your motherboard is P4SD-LA GL6E http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/g...=c00022505#doc
it says it can support a northwood processor up to 3.2 and can handle pc 3200
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Better invest Ur money somewhere else.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DyNaStY336
Merlin i was really hoping you would be the one to reply because you really seem to know what you are talking about. The problem is that my current mother board only supports PC2700 which i have a gig of, i was essensially going to get the new board for the fast that it will support PC3200 Ram. Do you still think i shouldn't worry about it to much and get the new processor?
Well, it will defiantly be faster for sure....especially if your current Mobo only supports DDR333...... Even more performance if the new mobo is i875p chipset

It would be worth the upgrade for the mobo, aslong as its in your budget

Good luck


__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.