New motherboard + processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2005, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default New motherboard + processor

Okay, so it's time. I HAVE decided (finally) to get a new motherboard + processor. I am looking for an AMD 64-bit processor, hopefully 3600 or so (or as high as I can find under $250), and of course, a new motherboard (hopefully under $115). Now I have limited knowledge of motherboards. Can anyone set me up with a good motherboard that is compatible with an AMD processor and DDR ram? Also, does anyone know a good place to buy either of these items? Thanks...
__________________

mystikast is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Click here for a good bundle deal for a nice CPU and great motherboard. That should be more than enough for your needs, and also falls inside your price range.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

www.newegg.com and i would get:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-502&depa=0

and

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-181&depa=0
GageMW is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I would go with what gageMW said, with maybe the third eye, as the uguru clock is a very useful tool.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Hmm, both of you gave me the same processor, so we can agree on that, but however: which motherboard is better? Because that will be the determining factor.
mystikast is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Honestly either motherboard you choose will be more than enough to meet your demands. MSI has 8 channel audio whereas ABit has 6 and that's like the only difference.

I'd suggest ABits AV8-3rd Eye though if you decide to go the ABit route.

Both boards will have tons of options in the BIOS for overclocking if you cared to or even if you didn't it's nice to have those extra features for perhaps in the future if you choose to OC.

Basically you would be safe tossing a coin in the air to decide which board to get as I always suggest those two when people consider their boards.

Uguru is definitely a very nice troubleshooting addition that ABit has added to their boards and it has a 2 digit LED that lights up that will also assist you in troubleshooting if your PC doesn't boot up upon putting it together.

ABit has VIA chipset but the nice troubleshooting features.

MSI Has nforce chipset but no special troubleshooting.

Like I said it's a really close toss up and no doubt you'd be happy with either.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Get an Asus A8V

Their all good boards, cannot really go wrong on any of them though.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 04:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Okay, I've decided on the http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...80701-2-241143 Not sure if Im going to order it from there, I'll look on e-bay first. Last question: will all these be compatible with my hardware? I have no idea O.o

GF4 Ti 4600
Sound Blaster Audigy 2

Those are my main, most expensive pieces, so can you tell me, would that mother board be compatible?

Thanks everyone for your help, I really appreciate it...

ALSO:

I found this http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW I think I might bid on it, is that the same processor as above?
mystikast is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 05:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Yes everything is compatible. However, don't purhcase the GF4 Ti 4600. Get yourslef a GeForce 6600Gt if it is in your price range.

That proc. on ebay is not the same. The one that you want is on 939, tthe ebay one is on 754.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 05:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

that one on ebay is socket 939, and it would not be compatible with that board.

I would also like to add, the abit av8 3rd eye allows overclocking in windows, even in a game, by selecting the user you want on the uguru clock.



__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.