New Motherboard, No Display Though. Please Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 02:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Sounds like an idea
__________________

vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 02:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Alright. I'll see if I can pull that off. I think I've solved the problem now, pretty sure. Thanks for all your help everyone! I really appreciate it.
__________________

DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

http://www.directron.com/15agpguide.html

According to this the GeForce 2 MX should work. I don't understand...I've already spent more money then I was suppost to and I dont want to find out if I buy another video card that it wasnt video card problems but something else....then I'm left with a new video card I dont need......
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Alright I'm about to go to my friends house to test to see if his NVIDIA GeForce 5200 FX AGP 8X will give me monitor display. If so, like vance43211 was saying, I will then go into the BIOS and find the setting to where I can enable PCI video cards, which means hopefully I will be able to return home and my PCT ATI Radeon 7000 32MB card will work.

If that's not the problem....what could it be then?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ultimategp.com/\">Ultimate Gaming Performance</a>

<font color=\"BLUE\">Intel Pentium 4 <b>3.2Ghz</b> (1MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz FSB)
</font> <font color=\"RED\"><b>Hyper-Threading Technology</b></font><font color=\"BLUE\">
ECS Motherboard
256MB DDR RAM by Crosshair
nVidia GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (64MB)
Maxtor 120GB Ultra Series Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Maxtor 30GB Hard Drive (7200RPM)
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

I.m Thinking that if you borrow you friend agp and reset your bios, then your should work

Most Agp mobo's maker don't expect you to use pci video
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Alright, I think so too. Even if this works....I can still probably buy a newer AGP 4x card instead of an 8x and I'm assuming that would also work too.

Resetting the bios would be changing one of the jumpers...then putting it back, right? It's in my motherboard booklet I believe.
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

no

it was say something like

video Agp

and you would to highlite it and hit enter to change it

it say something else after video, i don't remember what though
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 05:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Alright, thanks.

Going over in about an hour...testing a NVIDIA GeForce 5200 FX AGP, which I believe is AGP 8x, either way though it should work, then I will change the BIOS setting so that my PCI card will work. Thanks for the help.
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 06:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Raphael Argus
If all else fails, I just had this happen last month, be 100% sure your motherboard is NOT touching anything metal inside the case. Remove the board and reinstall it, be sure to use the plastic ground screws that they send you with the board. This is EXACTLY what happened to me.
I've noticed my motherboard will just turn off if it comes in contact. So when I've been testing it I try to leave it somewhat out of the case. Just now though....it turns off like no mater if there is metal or not...I guess it's just being random but I hope this does not happen....I'm going to my friends house to test out this card the board better work. I've been trying to get this running for a week now, and really starting to be really annoying.
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 09:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Well I tried it and guess what...still did the same thing!! Still no display!! and the motherboard has been acting up power wise. That orange light that was on the GeForce 2 MX I found out is suppost to be there, so that would should have worked. This is the second defective motherboard I have recieved. You wont believe how many times I've gone back to the computer store this is such BS. Worst experience ever and now I'm screwed I cant spend anymore money. I'm sending an e-mail to see if still have a warranty on the board, I believe I do. But that means I have to sent it and and all, and wait even longer. Like I said....worst experience ever for upgrading.
__________________

DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.