New Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2005, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default New Motherboard

I'm getting a new motherboard for a new machine and was wondering which is the best for gaming?

This mobo caught my eye and is rated the best motherboard on gamespot:

Asus-P4C800-E-Deluxe

What do you think? Is it worthy of its hype or are there better boards out there? Btw I'm using a pentium 4 3.0Ghz.
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

I've used that board several times at work. It's not bad.. But not good either. About what you'd expect out of an asus board running with an intel processor. Leave your system the same and buy an amd64 3200 system.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

I haven't got the bucks to get a new processor
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

http://www.bzboyz.com/store/product851.html
http://www.pcinfinity.net/Merchant2/...9GAK8NS9393200
http://www.oneclickpc.com/compatibil...roduct_ID=2072

it's like 70$ difference

uhm, and i don't know if i'd buy from some of those places.. bzboyz is ok, im unsure of the other 2 though.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

I appreciate that but will the AMD out perform my intel at gaming? And those links don't apply to me cause I'm British.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

the 3200 (2.0) will compare to the p4-E 3.2-3.6.. I've overclocked my system to 2.65ghz, Intel doesnt have a processor to compare it to really. The difference is, amd systems tend to get 1gb/s more memory throughput, Run cooler, are Cheaper, and are more reliable. They also make fun overclocking projects.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Wow sounds sweet, but guess I run into problems cause I doubt such a package deal would exist over here and would be vastly expensive and shipping here would be a *****, wrong?
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

No, you are correct. We had to ship a 50lb package to GB. It was like 300$-400$ (normally 100$ in us) for 2 day or something crazy. By the time you pay for shipping it'll prolly cost as much as it would to buy it in a store over there. Check fedex's website
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hewhohasissues
Wow sounds sweet, but guess I run into problems cause I doubt such a package deal would exist over here and would be vastly expensive and shipping here would be a ****, wrong?
i'm pretty sure there's UK computer sites you can order off of

i've seen in benchmarks where my $186 amd 64 3200+ performs as good as the $1000+ intel EE 3.46
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Amounts to $389 if I brought them over here, but would they seriously out perform a Mobo/Intel match up? And wipe the floor in gaming?
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.