new mobo Qs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default new mobo Qs

im getting this mobo http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=60080
and putting my p4 2.8ghz northwood in it, it says on the spec it has a max processor speed of 3.2ghz, does this mean that i wouldnt be able to over clok the cpu more than that?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

That would depend on several things... your settings, cooling, etc.

The "max processor speed of 3.2ghz" means the mobo can only handle up to a 3.2GHz CPU, whereas your CPU is a 2.8. 3.2 is not a ceiling for how fast you could OC to, though.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, thank you
harry18 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to TheGr8schlotzky
Default

you are only limited to overclocking by the quality of your motherboard, your cpu, and your cooling capabilities..
__________________
ASUS P4S800D-X
1.5GB Corsair DDR400
ASUS N6600 256MB
3.4 (OC\'d) P4 w/HT [3.0E]
160GB WD
600W Aspire PSU
17in LCD
TheGr8schlotzky is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 05:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

^^interseting, cos i was about to query....hypertheticly, if you had super good cooling on the cpu, would ther be a limit to the amount you could over clock?, so i geuss it depends on the mobo too then.
harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.