new Mobo Headaches...... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2005, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Angry new Mobo Headaches......

I just bought a Soyo SY-P4VTE Motherboard and a Pentium 4 @ 3Ghz, and I am experiencing System instability and Crashes, it seems to crash when I draw more power from the PSU, eg: installing something from a CD, I am running Windows 2000, as well sometimes the CPU usage jumps up to 100% when im doing nothing, ive searched around and ive found several articles addressing the same problem but none of them seemed conclusive, most aluded to Power Problems as I suspected, I ran PC Wizard 2005(http://www.cpuid.com/pcw.php) and it told me the 12v channel was registering between 8-10v

System Stats:

Powmax - 450W PSU
1 80mm LED fan
CD-RW
DVD-ROM
1 HDD
1 FDD
Cooler Master Aero 4 Lite
ATI RADEON 7000
SY-P4VTE Mobo
P4 3Ghz (Prescott)


I suspect the PSU to be the problem, Powmax is notorious for low quality materials

Please Help if you can, thx
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

i am having the same problem..also it happens when i download certain files such as patches for game..but im not sure if its cuz of the hotter weather or because of the PSU.
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

I found the same, when using IE, the same DL failed multiple times at 99%, I think it was because the HDD was draw more power, IE saves the file to a temp folder then copies it to the destination when its complete. Firefox however worked fine.

What kind of PSU do you have?

edit: oh yea and my CPU is running @ 53C (with stock grease) I ahve some AS ceramique when im ready to apply it
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

It seems to be a power problem. Powmax is not a good PSU brand. Get a Thermaltake or Antec. If you have money to blow buy a super high quality one from PC Power & Cooling.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

try get a better PSU such as coolermaster, enermax n etc~~~
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

thx sport,didi that confirms my suspicions, since I don't have a $150 to blow on this: http://www.pcpowerandcooling.com/pro.../425/index.htm well... its tempting ^^;;

Im looking into a Fortron PSU now, ive heard good things about them all over, and they are fairly cheap

400W Fortron/Source $62.00
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-974&depa=0

hmm....
also found a decently priced antec PSU

400W Antec $60
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...103-912&depa=0
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 11:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Definently the Antec
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

thanks for the feedback on the PSUs
do you think the 400W will be enough to power my rig?
in theory 350W would do the job
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.