new mobo, did i mess up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2004, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to asmodous
Default new mobo, did i mess up?

Ok so this is my first computer build

I got all my stuff in today,

I was about to install my dual Hard drives and Dual dvd burners when i looked on the MOBO and I could only find ONE IDE port on the mobo and it only came with ONE IDE cable

its this mobo -- ABIT "AA8-DuraMAX" i925X Chipset Motherboard for Intel LGA775 CPU - Retail

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-180&depa=0


So my question is did i screw up already and get the wrong mobo? is their another way to hook up all 4 of my drives on ONE IDE port?

ugh, im very frustrated with myself right now, please help!

thanks
-Chuck
__________________

asmodous is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Onboard SATA/RAID: 4x Serial ATA
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

OK, if it's not too late, you can return the mobo for a new one. BUT, you are not out of luck...at least not yet. There are IDE cables available with more than two connectors for your IDE devices.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to asmodous
Default

Dan, could i use one of those cables to run 2 Harddrives and 2 optical drives with no prob?

Please let me know, and where would i get one of these cables?

thanks

-Chuck
asmodous is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Yes. I have seen these cables before, I'm just not sure where I originially saw them. Browse through the sites I've listes below and look for cables with four or more connectors.

www.tigerdirect.com
www.newegg.com

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Great news! Dan The Man has found a 5-connector IDE cable! You'll get a great deal on this one.

http://www.cablesforless.com/index.a...OD&ProdID=1328

That's exactly what you need

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to asmodous
Default

Can anyone else find these? I've been searching but i cant find a 4 drive IDE cable. I need to know soon so I can know if i need to return this MoBo or not....

I did find this, although im not sure if it would work for an optical drive? or if it would be as fast as an IDE cable? any thoughts

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...156-001&depa=0
asmodous is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

also you could look into getting an IDE to SATA adapter for your drives. It won't be as fast as a SATA but it would help with your problem.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

The thing you listed above isn't what you need I don't think.

Quote:
Originally posted by OIDanTheManIO
Great news! Dan The Man has found a 5-connector IDE cable! You'll get a great deal on this one.

http://www.cablesforless.com/index.a...OD&ProdID=1328

That's exactly what you need

-Dan The Man
But THIS should work wonders for your motherboard

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to asmodous
Default

thank you very much for your help Dan, Im about to order it but i just wanted to make sure that even though my MoBo says IDE support for up to 2 devices that this cable you found will work?


just checking before i order... and btw i cant return the mobo, new egg will only exchange for the exact same thing,
Thanks again for all your help... give me the OK and ill order it asap

-Chuck
__________________

asmodous is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.