new mobo and cpu....reboots repeatedly - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2004, 08:30 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to NetAdmin
Default yes

Yes...I reformatted and installed XP Pro after installing the mobo, cpu, and new memory. I'm just not sure where to go from here...this problem is sooooo frustrating!!
__________________

NetAdmin is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 08:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Have you double checked all your connections, All good & snug? Nothing shorting out anywhere in the case? Maybe a heat issue with its randomness. Check your temps & try stripping the case & point a fan at it. You seem to have added alot of new hardware, Maybe back stuff out one at a time.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 09:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to NetAdmin
Default

I think it's all connected well....I replugged everything in, and the temps have been good. I'm beginning to wonder about the RAM...I know that memory conflicts can create these kinds of problems.

I thank you kboy, zero, alec, didi, and killians for your input. I won't be abble to work on the damn thing for the next week, am going out of town. But when I get back, I will figure this thing out and let you all know what the prob was.
NetAdmin is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 09:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Yeah maybe you can run Memtest on the Ram or just swap it with some extra if you or a buddy has some. Those damn ram test take forever & I still don't trust their results. Let us know when ya get back. We'll get ya going again.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
Default

I and several of my friends have had this problem in the past.

I am still unaware of what causes this problem as it can be directed to so many different pieces of hardware, software and configurations, but I eventually resolved the problem.

To begin with, I have the same motherboard as you (A7N8X-X). The first thing I recommend to do is flash your bios. Goto the Asus website and get the latest software for your motherboard. Theres a program on the disc you recieved with the motherboard that can automatically find and install the latest software, therefore this will simplify the process.

If problems persist, go into bios and check your settings. See what your cpu is clocked at, and if it's overclocked to some extent, default it to it's original setting. This is to ensure there is no overheating taking place, that is causing your computer to reboot. It is unlikely though, because you will be informed of this if you have installed the software which came with the motherboard (asus probe). But then again, temperatures displayed on screen are not always correct.

The final thing I can recommend is formatting your computer. I formatted several times (I was using XP Professional at the time also), and although I recall problems persisting, this could have a positive effect.

Well thats all I can think of at the moment.
dobo is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 02:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to NetAdmin
Default I gave up

I finally gave up solving the problem, and sent the Asus mobo back for a replacement. They would only replace it with the exact same brand and model. I just got the replacement back yesterday, so will be installing it in the next day or 2. I had the RAM checked at a local PC shop, and they said it checked out ok. I hope the new mobo will solve the problem. If not, I'll probably be back here looking for some more help.

Thank you all for your input on this problem.
NetAdmin is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 04:03 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if it doesn't work, put in the bare minimum hardware (mobo, CPU, 1 stick of RAM, video card) and see if it works
from then on you can add one piece of hardware at a time to try and find the culprit
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 05:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

when you get it back, if its still happening (sorry, have been away ), remove your cat/network cable and see if it still does it.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 12:54 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to NetAdmin
Default It was the motherboard

I put the replacement mobo in tonight, and, so far, no problems! Apparently, the original mobo had a problem that was causing the repeated reboots, although I have no idea what that problem might have been. The computer has been on now for approximately 4 hours, and has been used for some graphics intensive applications, and has not rebooted or shut down.

Thank you all for your input....it's nice to know there is a place I can come for knowlegable help and advice.
NetAdmin is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 08:58 AM   #20 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Thank God!!!
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.