:) New Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2005, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to MeltedPanzy
Default :) New Mobo

Currently im a stuck with a fried mobo. I need one thats compatible with my parts.Im not too familar with buying mother boards, so i want to know: Is the ram speed (DDR Pc 2700), and the socket number (Intel 478) all I need to know if i want to stick those parts into my new mobo?
__________________

MeltedPanzy is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, pretty much. Just dont get a crappy board. Stay away from ECS, Jetway. ASUS is the best, go with them. They work wonders with Intel's too. The other thing you need to pay attention too is the form factor. It's not really an issue, but it is if you want to fit it into an existing case. It's either doing to be an ATX or an M-ATX. M, is the smaller of the two.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to MeltedPanzy
Default

thanks dude
MeltedPanzy is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Get the DFI 875 Pro B, it is better than any old Asus!!
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to MeltedPanzy
Default

found a better one
Asus P4P800S-X
awesome board
MeltedPanzy is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

That is the very board I installed on my friends computer for him, and it is AWSOME! I was very jealous, and he's got mad connectors on it. SPDIF, IEEE 1394, 7.1 audio, all kinds of good stuff. Have fun with it.
Him is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 08:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Yea get a DFI or an Asus board, stay from from ABIT.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 09:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

DFI all the way, just don't get a Foxconn.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 09:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

I'd get Giga-byte.
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 09:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I have a GB motherboard, it's horrible, if you want to overclock.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.