new laptop user needs some upgrading help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to toyota_ae86
Default new laptop user needs some upgrading help

i recently got an older Dell inspiron 7500 pentium 3 501 mhz, 128 of ram, and windows XP. the computer runs great, it is on 501mzh, and i want to upgrade the computer. i would like to keep the pentium 3 but upgrade the Ram and the Mhz. how can i get more mhz out of it. and also i have an old gateway, with pc100 ram, and a pentuim 3, would my pc100 ram from the gateway work in my dell laptop becuase of the same prossecor and all? or do laptops use diffrent ram? i would like to get some more Mhz out of it, for the cheapest and best way. i have a tight buget to use, but i can make it work.

any help would be great!
__________________

toyota_ae86 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to toyota_ae86
Default

any help? please!
__________________

toyota_ae86 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You would have to dig up an old Pentium 3 mobile, while making sure it does not give off ANY MORE heat

With a faster Pentium 3, it will get hotter, which means you may burn out the chip.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default Re: new laptop user needs some upgrading help

Quote:
Originally posted by toyota_ae86
would my pc100 ram from the gateway work in my dell laptop becuase of the same prossecor and all?
No, The RAM is different.


"i would like to get some more Mhz out of it"

Only way is to try and overclock it. This, however, is probably not an option in the BIOS.(i guess replacing the processor is an alternative, probably an expensive one though.)

It is my opinion that a laptop computer is at maximum strength when it is first built. Meaning there is not a lot of room for upgrades because it all has to fit in such a small space. Generally, the only upgrade an end-user can do on a laptop is add some RAM. Keep in mind that your Laptop may not support more RAM than it already has.....
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Try installing the RAM. The worst that could happen is that the pc will not boot. If it doesnt just remove it and move on. If it does, great!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
Try installing the RAM. The worst that could happen is that the pc will not boot. If it doesnt just remove it and move on. If it does, great!
Wouldn't the RAM modules be different? (Length, Number of pins, Shape?)
I'm asking because i always thought they were different.

Sorry Toyota, i'm not trying to hijack your thread.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to toyota_ae86
Default

well i dont have the money to buy a prosseccor, and i was just curious how i could make it faster and all. and my bigest question was would my old ram work.? i know that ram speeds things up quite a bit. all i use my computer for is internet browsing and burning some CD.s and my main reason for wanting to go faster is, the initial boot up, when i first turn on the computer is really slow, takes about 5mins to get to top speed of loading programs ect... and i think the ram could help it. i downloaded the cpu id thing and it says i have 2 ram slots? and i have a 128 PC100 in ram slot 1 made by mitsubishi. so now do laptops and desktops take diffrent ram?
toyota_ae86 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

"so now do laptops and desktops take diffrent ram?"

I thought that they were different. I could be wrong...

SHAWN has cast some doubt in my mind now.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Click here for a picture of the Laptop RAM

Does your Gateway's RAM look like that?

Also, What is the model # of your Gateway?
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 03:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to toyota_ae86
Default

my gateway is a esentsial. super old. but my gateways ram is similar but, i will have to look again. i know my gateways is 144 pins but the gateways is not as tall, it is very long and not as tall.
__________________

toyota_ae86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.