New Home Wireless Network - HELP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2003, 10:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yes, you can manually input the settings that you need. Do you have AIM or Trillian. I would rather walk you through this at this point in real-time
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 10:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 28
Default

Found where to manually input numbers.....all numbers should be the same as the main computer except the last digit of the IP address ... correct?
__________________

Vellamint is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 10:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yes, make it 102. Also you are going to need to input the DNS addresses. This is under the DNS tab. Go to the other PC (XP) and go to the command prompt again and type "ipconfig /all"
There is a section for DNS Servers. These addresses are what you need.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 10:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 28
Default

yes aim..... is my AIM name - I am on now but "hidden". Thanks for your time.......be forewarned - I am running between the two computers.....
Vellamint is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 10:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 28
Default

and manually inputting the numbers has not helped.
Vellamint is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 11:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Vellamint was having a problem when trying to install this wireless card. Turned out to be a hardware problem. The device is displaying a problem in device manager: Windows has encountered a problem with this device....etc. It refers to the ASD for correct configuration but freezes when it's installed and rebooted. Has anyone has this prblem before using a Linksys Wireless Card in 9x?

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 10:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 28
Default

Just to let you know....I have upgraded to Windows XP and still cannot get the wireless system to work. As a matter of fact - everytime I manage (and its not easy) to install the software for the PCI adapter the whole system hangs and I have to reboot. Done this at least 5 times in the hopes it will install but no luck!

Now I have the additional headache of activating the XP version on the 2nd computer and I dont know if I can. What happens if I can't!? I already tried to reformat back to 98 and cant do that either (hope I dont sound like a total dork but am desperate-at least the computer worked before!)

AND when I change the PCI adapter to another slot I cannot get the monitor to work either so I have to shut down and put it back in that one particular slot.

I have no "network neighborhood" nor TCP/IP - I am a total mess and my significant other will NOT be thrilled with this expensive mistake be it mine or Linksys. (Great early holiday gift - huh)
Vellamint is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 10:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

You can activate it on more than the one computer.. i have one product key on 5 computers in my house.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.