New HD cant format and install OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2004, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Unhappy New HD cant format and install OS

Hi all,

I bought a new 80 GIG HD, I formatted the drive, it then said “coping Files” that is when it gets stick at 76%. I then rebooted and when I started it back up I got a missing file error. I went into the bios and had it boot off of the CD rom this took care of the error, I then divided the drive into two partitions one was C: and the other one did not have a drive associated with it, so I tempted to reformat and it did the same thing. I then rebooted and cleared the partitions and tried to bypass the format stage and it said it was coping files and it got stuck on 10%. I then tried again and it got stuck on 100% coping files. I can’t get past this part do yall think my new HD is bad? Any help will be great
__________________

mavalos is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Could be the drive. Before an assumption is made that the drive is bad, you should do your best to make a distinction of where the problem really is. Try another install CD for the same operating system. Or try a different OS all together....just to test the integrity of the drive.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 10:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

You can download a diagnostic program from the manufacturer that will tell you if the drive is bad or not.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 11:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the suggestions, I will try both and let ya know the outcome
mavalos is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i bet you are trying to install winXP or win2k right? older manufactuered cd-rom drives and many older memory configurations have problems when installing. use a newer manufactuered cd-rom to test and use 1 stick of memory in bank zero. it could also be your memory brand that the OS is rejecting.
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.