New Hardrive... big BIG performence! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 07:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Thumbs up New Hardrive... big BIG performence!

Hi,
I buyed a new Maxtor 30GB yesterday and I replaced the Maxtor 10GB that I had before with the new 30GB. I installed Windows XP, it took about 30 min (before it was 50 min). And, when it booted up I was soo surprised the time that it took to go in windows, it was less than 30 secs! Before it could take up to 2 mins!

Does a hard drive make a big difference like that?!

BTW: The Maxtor 30GB is a 5T030H3 and the Maxtor 10GB is a 91080D5.
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 07:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well if the 10gb was 2mb buffer and the 30gb is 8mb buffer you'd notice a decent increase in speed there.

The only other step is a 10K RPM drive That'll really speed things up
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 07:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Well if the 10gb was 2mb buffer and the 30gb is 8mb buffer you'd notice a decent increase in speed there.

The only other step is a 10K RPM drive That'll really speed things up
My motherboard doesn't support SATA :'(
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 12:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It doesnt have to be SATA, the raptors were in IDE as well
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

don't forget, boot up time slows down with more programs installed so a fresh copy of windows with nothing else installed is always faster
Richard is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 07:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

since your old HD was only 10gigs my guess would be that it was 5400rpm or slower, ona 40-pin EIDE cable.(ATA-66, or something or other)

your new HD is 7200rpm, prolly 8mb buffer, and prolly came with a 80-pin EIDE cable, for ATA-100.

those are the only things that affect it... your windows install time is a better compairison... your Win Bootup time is affected by much more then just your HD.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.