New hardisk I got.. Did I get what i wanted?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2004, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Question New hardisk I got.. Did I get what i wanted?!

Hi all
I just got myself a new harddisk...I told the guy that the shop that I want one with 8mb buffer for my new harddisk. He gave me a Western Digital Carvier SATA and told me all SATA harddisk have 8mb buffers. But I went to look around and found there are those with non 8mb buffers..

erm how can I check if my is the right one with 8mb buffers? is there really a big difference in the speed in the difference of the buffers?
I went to check on my computer(in device manager) and all the model number of the harddisk is WDC WD2000JD-00GBB0 SCSI disk device
__________________

ghosty is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 08:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yes, there is a performance difference.
Yes, different drives (including ones within the same mf) can have different buffers. It's a product feature.
You find out what your buffer is by either A: looking at the box, or B: searching the mf website for that drives model number, or C: some drives have it in the specs on the label on the drive.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

here is the link for your drive specs
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=58
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 07:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Well I am staying in australia now and I got it for like $200 bucks Aussie..
ghosty is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 07:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

thats about $142 American, by the way, welcome to Australia!
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

the WD 160 GB media centre is 8 MB cache, right?
can't be anything else?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Mine is the 200GB one.. and ya i think I got the right one rookie1010. BUt no I think there are 2mb cache version of the 200 GB one..not sure about the 160GB ones though
ghosty is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 04:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

kool, you got 8 mb
is it internal or external

i was wondering how does cache help in a hard disk, i understand the concept of cache for processors, not for hard disks though
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 10:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Default

u mean the hdd? its internal...

I think it works the same way ? but the differences between price of the 2mb and the 8mb buffer don't seem much though..
__________________

ghosty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.