New hard drive need new windows? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default New hard drive need new windows?

Do you need a new Windows for everytime you replace a hard drive? If not, how many times can you use the windows? If you go thru 10 hard drives can you use the same Windows 10 times?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

If this is a slave hard drive for music, video, pictures, than you don't need to reformat.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Its not a slave. Just replacing Hard drives for upgrades or ones that go bad.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm not sure how it works with Vista because there was a big debate about limiting the number of times it could be installed. however in XP it's fine as many times as you need to.
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.