New Hard Drive boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 11:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Unhappy New Hard Drive boot problem

I had a 10GB hard drive in my hp pavilion laptop. I created a backup image of my hard drive using Acronis True Image and saved it on my USB Hard Drive.

I bought a new 40GB hard drive for my laptop and restored the image to the new drive. After completing the restore of the hard drive image from my old drive to the new, I installed the new hard drive and booted my computer.

When it boots it gives me the following message:
"Non-system disk, press any key..."

If I hit "any key" Windows XP starts and seems to be functioning correctly.

Other information which may be useful in identifying the problem:
I have a HP Pavilion laptop running Windows XP Professional SP2.
The new drive IS marked as Primary and Active.
It appears as though the drive actually has two partitions (A really small one-15MB (this partition is marked as Primary not Active), which I think is used for when the hard drive goes into hibernate; and the main system partition C: Drive )
There are no floppy or CD disks in my computer which could be causing the "Non-system disk, press any key..." message.

Any idea why I'm getting the "Non-system disk, press any key..." message when booting to my new hard drive? Any suggestions about what I can do to fix this?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

kbfresh is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default

sounds like a BIOS problem
check where your comp boots from
__________________

__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

The boot order in my BIOS is:

1. Floppy
2. CD
3. Hard Drive
kbfresh is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

change it to Hard drive first... just to make sure.

Also, did u make the 15MB partition urself? or did u partition anything urself?
Because it sounds like its a logical partition.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I did not create the 15MB partition, it already existed on the old drive.

I didn't create any of the partitions. I just copied all of the partitions from my old drive to the new drive.

I'll try making the hard drive first in my boot order and see if that changes anything.

Thanks.
kbfresh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.