New hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default New hard drive

I’m going to buy a new hard drive but am unsure what to get. I don’t need anything bigger than an 80GB so the only question I have is will getting one with a 8MB buffer be any better than one with a 2MB buffer? What doses the Buffer actually do anyways?
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Buffer helps the speed alot. I would go with at least a 120 gig since it's only 10$ or so more than an 80 gig. Seagate and western digital are good brands to look at
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default Re: New hard drive

Quote:
Originally posted by Spud5437
I’m going to buy a new hard drive but am unsure what to get. I don’t need anything bigger than an 80GB so the only question I have is will getting one with a 8MB buffer be any better than one with a 2MB buffer? What doses the Buffer actually do anyways?
For an example:

Before I had a 10Gig with 2MB buffer. And now 30Gig with 8MB buffer. And now, my windows is twice as fast. It's amazing how buffer do a difference.
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Depends on how much you download etc. I would get the largest HD you can afford. I bought an 80GB a few weeks ago and its already too small.
I would go for Seagate.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 08:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default

thanks you guys, think will go for a 120GB seagate with 8MB buffer
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 09:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Seagate is a perfect choice right now with their 5 year warranty. Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.