New graphics card, now DVD doesn't work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2005, 05:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default New graphics card, now DVD doesn't work

Just replaced an aging 32MB G400 card in a 98SE system with a Radeon 9200SE, and now my DVD drive won't play anymore.

Any suggestions as to what I can do?
Thanks
__________________

zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Make sure you didnt knock loose an IDE cable

Everytime i touch my case, something comes undone like that
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

No, that's fine, the drive works, it just won't play DVD's. I presume it's a software issue, as the previous DVD software came with the graphics card.
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 08:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Are the drivers correctly installed? (I don't think your iliterate with computers, just checking the most prominent possibility)

Good luck

Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 09:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

AS far as I'm aware they are.
The card works fine and the drive works.
Is there another bit of software I can use to play DVD's or is there an Asus bit of software that'll work with the card?
(And I'm no genius with computers! lol!)
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zak1976
No, that's fine, the drive works, it just won't play DVD's. I presume it's a software issue, as the previous DVD software came with the graphics card.
maybe you could try a different software for dvd playback, like nero or cyberlink...even windows media player. (not sure if 98se supports that)

new cards tend to come bundled w/ some software. did your new card have any?

maybe the codecs that worked w/ your old card, may not work w/ your new one.

try a seperate dvd player software and see if it plays.

if all else fails...you could upgrade to XP!
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 10:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Got media player 9, which just hangs when a DVD goes in the drive.
Got lots of packaged software with the card, but none stands out as for DVD playing.
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 10:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

You probably need a decoder, or you might just want to buy Power DVD at TechSunny for $6
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 10:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

iIs the decoder graphics card related then?
Cause I had one which worked with my old Matrox card, but obviously tht doesn't work with my Asus.......
Surely there is a free one?
zak1976 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 12:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zak1976
Got media player 9, which just hangs when a DVD goes in the drive.
Got lots of packaged software with the card, but none stands out as for DVD playing.
could you please list your system specs.

try these ATI dvd players

as well as Apple's 6.5 player.

also

this DVD player 7.6 should work for ATI cards.

good luck...
__________________

__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.