New Graphics Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 11:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156
Default

But you said the computer shuts itself down? Here comes the first advice that comes when this happens is have you downloaded the latest drivers from NVIDIA (sometimes the ones on the CD's are duds) If problem still occurs just make sure there are no weird options on the Nvidia manager (make sure your video card actually registers on the manager so it says 6000 whatever) selected ( I don't what options that could be?) You need to pop the case and look at the label on the power supply (Power is a common problem on these Pre-Fab computers) if it says 250 watts you got a power problem.

If not the case just check the card in a different computer (like a mates or something) because obviously the card is where the problem lies... Is the 5200 onboard or is it stand-alone because you might need to change the BIOs video (highly unlikely as most prefab computers shut down onboard once the new card is in though.) It sounds like that once the Video card begins to get a work-out like in BF2 the power demand increases causing a crash.
__________________

__________________
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 12:00 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

yea its a 250 watt PSU which i don't get because i've read on other forums of other people using a 250 watt PSU to power a 6600 GT. I bought it for a new rig but i don't have all the parts yet. I figured i could use it in my dell untill i got the mula for the rest or the parts.

i'll check it in my buds computer tommorow, thanks for the help wedge, Win2kpatcher and Rico.
__________________

__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 06:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

I put it in my buds computer and the same thing happened, so im sending it back to newegg for a new one . Easier process than i thought thanks to newegg.
__________________

__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.