New GFX Card for me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: In Celsius, please.
25 or below 1 12.50%
26-30 4 50.00%
31-35 2 25.00%
36-40 2 25.00%
41-45 0 0%
46-50 1 12.50%
50 or above 2 25.00%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 8. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2005, 09:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default New GFX Card for me

Hey guys,
Ok so here's the situation, at the moment i've got a Nividia Geforce FX 5200 128mb (I know it's crap don't say anything). And yes I know that it's outdated too. I was just wondering for a budget of about $350 - $400 (pushing it), what would be a nice gfx card to get? I was thinking of making the switch to ATI for their 9800? or maybe looking at the Nividia 6600 GT?
However even though I haven't got the money... yet lol. I will be looking to buy definetly within a month!

Anyway please dicuss,

- Michael -
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

personally i would say the Nvidia 6600GT and if you can afford the 6800GT

the best aussie site for hardware is www.centrecom.com.au i have got many parts and many people i know also have. the bad side of the site is that they are usally slow to get your gear
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 09:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The 6600gt is alot better than the 9800pro (excluding Unreal Tournament 2004)

Where will you be buying it from, so we can see what is avaliable (I don't know of any austrailian sites.


The poll was not a very good idea btw.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 09:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Definitely get a 6600GT. I just got one myself, you won't be dissapointed.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

ATI are rip-offs!
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

You can afford a 6800GT if you don't buy from a retail store. I saw an eVGA on newegg for $380 (don't kknow if they ship to whare you live though). Definatly go with nVidia, their upper end cards (from 6600 on up I think) support the next generation of pixel shaders and pretty much destroy ATI's offerings by a margin of around 20%. Make sure your power supply can handle it though, Nvidia's cards suck a lot of power (you need at least a 350 watt for a 6600GT and 500 is recommended for the 6800s, and minimum for the Ultra), and they are huge, so you may lose a PCI slot.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
(you need at least a 350 watt for a 6600GT and 500 is recommended for the 6800s, and minimum for the Ultra)
I got a 6800 running on a Antec 330watt truepower, lol, but don't be as stupid as me and go that close to the limit of the psu. Newegg don't ship internationally either, sadly :'(
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 10:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

You could get an X800 XL. They are $300 and near equal if not equal to the 6800 GT.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 11:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Definately Nvidia. Comparing Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory IQ on a 6800 series card and on an X800 series card is like night and day, all due to Pixel Shader 3. I hate when ATI fanboys say Pixel Shader 3 is no big deal, because it is a very big deal. ATI has basically ripped everybody with an X800/X850 card off by not giving them Pixel Shader 3.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 11:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I was very happy when I bought splinter cell and I say "caching shader model 3 models"

Anyone know a way for me to try using the game without shader model 3?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.