NEW 'GeForce 6800 Ultra 512mb' link - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 06:46 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I agree nubius. There has to be some way to improve graphics technology that does not involve simply lining up more cards to create some kind of "array" similar to hard drives lol.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:47 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

hahah you talk like voodoo died cause of sli. it didnt but that is besides the point. im just into SLI cause its the cool thing to do right now lol. yea i know "how lame" but what else am i gonna do? Besides i cant even use my computer right now cause my 6800GT is agp and obvioulsty a sli board is pci-e. what a bummer.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:05 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
hahah you talk like voodoo died cause of sli.
Umm no I never said that at all. I simply meant voodoos attempt at SLI which should have been obvious
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:08 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
SLI will fade out just like voodoo. Theres no way it will become a normal and standard way of getting awesome gaming. That's like telling people "Unless you can shell out your life savings, sell a couple kids into slavery, you'll never see better than medium graphics!"
Hay I've heard white kids sell as high as 30K... LOL

I don't know but was there a time when it was normal to only have 1 stick of RAM. Now look at it...

What if ATI starts doing SLI?

Well is SLI works out, what's next? Dual processors becoming the norm?
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:09 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Well is SLI works out, what's next? Dual processors becoming the norm?
Nope, dual cores

Quote:
What if ATI starts doing SLI?
They ARE going to do it. It's in development already
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:54 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

May the war begin! And a bi-product of that is a pocket that has been burnt out by the prices in the war, did I mention that the pants where burnt away too??!!

Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:32 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

god please no wars.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:34 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I agree with nubius on many of his comments.

IMO~ You don't need to spend that kind of $MONEY$ on this kind of technology. Todays PC games can't and probably won't for a long time support this technology. Not saying that the games won't run, they will, but there is no utilization of two cards. SLI technology today basically allows you to run two cards, (one card - displays the top portion of the screen and the second card - displays the bottom portion on the screen.) Big deal. I'd rather have one 512MB video card displaying the whole screen than 2 (256MB) and SLI with two 512MB for a total video memory of 1GIG? Come on... That's like putting a "big block 440" into a GO-CART. It's just not freakin' necessary.

And everyone is raving about the AMD FX-55 or the P4 Extreme Editions for gaming. Best for gaming, Best for gaming... Please, spend $900 to $1200 for a processor and another $1200 on dual SLI videocards. NO thanks.

I've got a Intel P4 3.4GHz
2 GIG of XMS corsair
(2) 250GIG SATA Seagate barracuda w/NCQ in RAID 0
A brand new Sapphire Radeon X800XT PE with Artic-Cooling Silencer 4.
SB Audigy 2 ZS
WINDOWS 95 (LOL J/K) WINDOWS XP PRO
I play all new games at highest settings and resolutions. And never have a problem. Well, except for HL2 which I still can't seem to play for some unknown memory read error, that thousands of people have experienced and hasn't been fixed yet.

My point, I don't have one... LOL
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I don't think anyone's arguing that 1 512MB is worse then 2 256MBs or that 1 256MB is worse then 2 128MBs...
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

i dotn have the best everythign either but my games run smooth as well.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.