New Gaming PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2006, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default New Gaming PC

Dad and I are the PC geeks in the family, so since I've built my current PC my dad has had his eye on it, and i sort of lost a bet and the PC So i've have to build a new PC or buy one, i only got $1000 from making straight A's this year, so from http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...=DDCWBA2&s=dhs i decided on some components that are suitable for a gamer taht will last aleast another year......

AMD Athlon™ 64 3200+
Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005
Express Upgrade to Windows Vista Home Premium from XP Media Center Edition
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz- 2DIMMs
80GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™
16X DVD ROM Drive
15 inch E156FP Analog Flat Panel
NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE Integrated Graphics GPU
Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio

All that came up to $674, since i'm new to buying PC's over making them, i wanna no if this is worth it...............
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 06:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I dont think it is espcially not for intergrated graphics Id rather have 1 gig of ram and a graphics card than that.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 08:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

dude, for a G u can get alot more computer than that if you know how to build.

this rig will be atleast 2x faster:

Conroe CPU
2GB DDR2 800 RAM
Socket LGA 775 MoBo
~$566

DVD Burner - Retail
$30

7900 GS w/$40 rebate
$180-40=140

WD HDD
$60

17" Monitor
$170

Solid PSU
$90

Case $60

thats ~$1100 and will blow the doors off that dell AND your old computer! (check out the benchmarks for conroe vs dual core amd's)

your dad will want this one way more than the one you lost! trust me

u can shave some cheddar off the psu or monitor or less ram to get it under 1000

good luck!
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 08:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Default

yea agree! save yourself a little, settle with the 1Gb of memory, you can always add later. But invest in a better graphics card!!
__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

thanks for the help, but i was planning on overclocking a low-end gpu (cuz i love to overclock lol) but i will consider what cwiz recommended! thanks guys!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 03:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

overclocking a low end GPU wont even do much if it doesnt support some high end features like direct x9.0C and SM 3.0. Also id rather have a GPU with more pixal pipelines than one thats just overclocked more than it.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 06:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

i also want a vista home premium express upgrade, so i'm gonna buy an alienware! if u have cheaper alternatives keep posting plz!
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.