New DVD-R/W - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2005, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19
Default New DVD-R/W

I just bought a new computer. Its an Athlon 64 3000+. Anyway, it came with a samsung TS-H552U DVD writer. I just loaded a DVD into it and it plays fine, but there is NO SOUND!! now the sounds works fine for other applications, but not for the DVD. Anyone have any idea whats wrong?? It says i have the best drivers installed for it already, so i dont' know what else to do....

JD911 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Couple of questions:

1.) What type of audio device are you using? Onboard or Audio Card?

2.) Is this drive set to master or slave?

Well, one thing you should check is this: START > CONTROL PANEL > SOUNDS AND AUDIO DEVICES > under device volume select ADVANCED: this will show you your device volume controls. Look for CD Player. Make sure that there isn't a check in the Mute box. Adjust volume accordingly.

Let me know the out come. I can provide a few more things to try.

HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363

What player do you use? Maybe you have your player muted.

Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Do you have the codec?
turtile is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19

I have onboard 8 channel audio, nothing is muted. Does anyone know where i can get a DVD decoder, i think that is what i need. WMP cannot play DVD's??
JD911 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

windows media player requires a codec for it to play dvd's.

I don't get sound unless I put my surround sound on connected by a opticle cable.


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.