New DVD-R/W - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19
Default New DVD-R/W

I just bought a new computer. Its an Athlon 64 3000+. Anyway, it came with a samsung TS-H552U DVD writer. I just loaded a DVD into it and it plays fine, but there is NO SOUND!! now the sounds works fine for other applications, but not for the DVD. Anyone have any idea whats wrong?? It says i have the best drivers installed for it already, so i dont' know what else to do....
__________________

JD911 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 05:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Couple of questions:

1.) What type of audio device are you using? Onboard or Audio Card?

2.) Is this drive set to master or slave?

Well, one thing you should check is this: START > CONTROL PANEL > SOUNDS AND AUDIO DEVICES > under device volume select ADVANCED: this will show you your device volume controls. Look for CD Player. Make sure that there isn't a check in the Mute box. Adjust volume accordingly.

Let me know the out come. I can provide a few more things to try.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

What player do you use? Maybe you have your player muted.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Do you have the codec?
turtile is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 03:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19
Default

I have onboard 8 channel audio, nothing is muted. Does anyone know where i can get a DVD decoder, i think that is what i need. WMP cannot play DVD's??
JD911 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 07:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

windows media player requires a codec for it to play dvd's.

I don't get sound unless I put my surround sound on connected by a opticle cable.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.