new dual-chnnl question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2004, 03:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to crspii
Question new dual-chnnl question

Heres the deal:
im on this budget, and im building my comp.
and to get my good parts, im gonna have to sacrafice somethings for others. I'm gonna be getting dual channel RAM and Mobo, and i was wondering if i could buy one stick of dual channel pc3200 512MB ram such as kingston hyperx, or corsair TwinMX now, then buy an identical stick later. I didnt know if i could do this because they sell the kits that say "matched pair" and i was wondering if there are other factors involved besides having congruent speeds and the specs i gave up there ^. Also, if i can indeed do this, would two corsair xms sticks be the same as the TwinX kit? thx
__________________

__________________
signature
crspii is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 01:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Dual-channel is a function of the motherboard chipset and not the RAM itself. You can buy a single stick now and buy another one later as long as they are identical. Corsair sells them as "matched" pairs because they (and probably others) have tested them for compatibility in dual-channel mode and have similar response when they are overclocked.
__________________

Fragino is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 01:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Matched pair kits are identical RAM chips, from the clock to the CAS latency. Everything is guarenteed identical. Because of this the chips can run at their full potential. If you were to say, buy a PC3200 stick of 512MB RAM from Corsair. Then you went and bought the same spec'd stick from CompUSA. It would work marvelously but there would be no guarentee that the latencies would be the same on the two chips. Therefore the faster one must slow itself down to match the slower one (in latency). Only company matched pairs can be guarenteed to work at the same exact specs.
__________________


Apple, Mac OS , and Power PC
g5orbust is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to crspii
Default

so say i bought the corsair stuff that tells u the latencies, but since its not factory matched or w/e they still wouldnt be EXACTLY the same? and if so, would the difference be worth it? worth it being me having to spend more at once.... more like twice as much at once.
__________________
signature
crspii is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 02:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well that depends on if you don't have the money, or need to buy something else, or even if the same RAM stick may be lower in price down the track, or even not selling anymore
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.