New Drive won't work! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default New Drive won't work!

I am new to computer building and have just built my first---again. I broke my CPU the first time... 'nuther story... SO I finally got my new parts in and a DVD burner.
I assembled everything, turned comp on and it stops and says I'm missing my operating system. Only, I put XP in the DVD rom drive. It won't read it or something. I also tried to read it with the CD-RW just below.

I have one IDE cable running to both (my hard drive is on the other port) and I pulled both out and set the jumpers to master (DVD) and slave (CD-RW). I have switched the order of the cables (terminates at the CD, terminates at the DVD, starts at 1st IDE port, sterts at 2nd IDE port).
I don't know what to do and am seeking sagely wisdom. Thank you.

My system is: Asus A7V600-X mobo, Athlon XP 2600 333FSB, nvidia Geforce 4 graphics card, NEC DVD rewriteable DL, and CD-RW
__________________

AngelicBeaver is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

have u formatted the drive? as if its brand new?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

The hard drive?
AngelicBeaver is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I tried to build the computer before and sort of formatted the hard drive, but I never finished. I had problems that were not resolved until now. Now I have new ones. If you mean the DVD RW drive, no. I didn't think you could do that. Apparently, this is OEM? Which means all I got was the DVD drive. Without a manual or anything else. I didn't mean to get OEM. But iz chipper.
AngelicBeaver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.