New Drive won't work! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2004, 11:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default New Drive won't work!

I am new to computer building and have just built my first---again. I broke my CPU the first time... 'nuther story... SO I finally got my new parts in and a DVD burner.
I assembled everything, turned comp on and it stops and says I'm missing my operating system. Only, I put XP in the DVD rom drive. It won't read it or something. I also tried to read it with the CD-RW just below.

I have one IDE cable running to both (my hard drive is on the other port) and I pulled both out and set the jumpers to master (DVD) and slave (CD-RW). I have switched the order of the cables (terminates at the CD, terminates at the DVD, starts at 1st IDE port, sterts at 2nd IDE port).
I don't know what to do and am seeking sagely wisdom. Thank you.

My system is: Asus A7V600-X mobo, Athlon XP 2600 333FSB, nvidia Geforce 4 graphics card, NEC DVD rewriteable DL, and CD-RW

AngelicBeaver is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

have u formatted the drive? as if its brand new?

Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3

The hard drive?
AngelicBeaver is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3

I tried to build the computer before and sort of formatted the hard drive, but I never finished. I had problems that were not resolved until now. Now I have new ones. If you mean the DVD RW drive, no. I didn't think you could do that. Apparently, this is OEM? Which means all I got was the DVD drive. Without a manual or anything else. I didn't mean to get OEM. But iz chipper.
AngelicBeaver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.