New Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2004, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default New Drive

hey, one of my computer's hard drive died and I am now installing a new hard drive, with nothing on it (so obviously i have to install the os too). I don't wanna mess the new drive up. I wanna know how would I go about installing the new hard drive and installing windows (windows xp pro).

System specs:

Intel Celeron 1.3 ghz
256 mb sdram pc133
16x cd-rom
nVidia tnt2 32mb

hard drive: Maxtor Fireball 3 w/40 gb

Thanks.
__________________

onimega is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

welll just hook ur drive up as master (make sure if there are jumper settings that u get them right ).. and then just start up ur system and pop in ur win xp cd.. it'll book rite off the cd and ull be good to goo .. the installation will guide u thru everything.. its pretty straightforward...
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Just make sure you have the CD-ROM drive set as the primary boot device in the BIOS.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

if u wanna do some partitioning, then i suggest that u go 2 the maxtor website n get d prog that helps u format n partiton. their software is only 4 Maxtor hddz. Trust me, itz really quick. It just take about less than a minute 2 do everything. the software is called Maxblast 3. if u don't wanna partiton it, thenn follow what they've said above.
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD¬ĪR/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 07:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Alright, cool. Thanks everyone for the quick responses. I'll give it a go right now.
onimega is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default

hey everyone, I set the jumpers all right for the drive, and connected it to the comp, but the comp won't detect the drive, i know the drive isn't faulty, because i put it in my latest comp (it's in it right now), but i want it in the other computer. It uses an intel mobo, not sure what model, but it's made for the celeron 1.3 ghz (tualatin core). Any body can think of why it's not detecting the hd? I set the jumpers to master when i connected it.

ps. the drive is ntfs
__________________

onimega is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.