New DDR module - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2005, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default New DDR module

I recently bought a 512 MB DDR memory module, hoping to increase the 256 MB memory I already have. I put it in my motherboard (ASUS P4S333-M) expecting it would recognize the 512 memory and add it to the 256 I already have, since the manual said the board could hold up to 2 GB. But it didn't. For some reason it won't recognize the second DDR slot and I still have 256 MB. I switched the two cards, but this time it tells me it is using the new 512 MB card I just switched. What is preventing the second slot from being used?
__________________

angryPenguin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Are they different brand modules?
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Is your motherboard dual channel?
Samm is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Dual channel shouldn't matter, thats just to make them run in sync, not recognize the second DIMM
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

yes they are from different manufactures. the 256 is from Apacer and the 512 is a Kingston 'ValueRAM' module.
angryPenguin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

try putting the second ram stick in a diff dimm
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

that's what i did. I switched the two and the new 512 module was reconized but the old 256 wasn't. Is it something with the bios?
angryPenguin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

the brand dont matter as long as its the rite pin and the ddr or w/e it is
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

both of them have the same pins and stuff - I think it's something happening with slot 2 since it isn't reconizing the module.
angryPenguin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Your motherboard might be broken
__________________

Sonikbaby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.