New Conroe PI Test - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default New Conroe Tests/News

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=95021

this is insane. without any OCing at all. i cannot wait for these babies. i got 1:06 on mine right now lol piece of crap

it beats amd at everything as expected. and its only the 2.4GHz. i dunno what the EE will do!

mods im not sure if this is the place for this
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: New Conroe PI Test

Quote:
Originally posted by cvb724
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=95021

this is insane. without any OCing at all. i cannot wait for these babies. i got 1:06 on mine right now lol piece of crap

it beats amd at everything as expected. and its only the 2.4GHz. i dunno what the EE will do!

mods im not sure if this is the place for this
It also has twice the L2 cache then anything else on the market. So, it's not really a fair statement to make against anything AMD has available right now.

Wait until AMD has something similar in specs, then make comparisons.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Wow. 6600+ on 3Dmark06 with a 7800gt!! Yikes!!! Faster than my rig wiht an oc'd 7900GT by 1000!!! I'm sold!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Re: New Conroe PI Test

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
It also has twice the L2 cache then anything else on the market. So, it's not really a fair statement to make against anything AMD has available right now.

Wait until AMD has something similar in specs, then make comparisons.
but it only has 1GB ram and his had 2x1 gig DC and the ram makes a difference in how fast it goes. plus it isnt the extra cache since its 2x2 now, its the Core architecture driving it. it has the 14 short pipelines that move blazing fast as well as the cache
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

****.

*Just ordered an Opteron165*
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

lol wow that sux. july could not come faster. or im thinking i'll wait until the EE version comes out and get that
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Holy [snipped] thats insane!
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

wat is PI? and wat makes a good PI result or w/e?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:51 PM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

k well PI is 3.14 etc u know the circle thing. its an infinite number so u can calculate it forever. so this uses ur cpu to test its power

an fx-60 oc'd to 2.8 is getting about 30 seconds i think. ppl can correct me if im wrong.

so 21 seconds on intels midrange chip is just insanity

ppl r guessing that the OC'd conroe EE will get like 14 seconds but thats all pure speculation. the japanese super computer (the current champion) is going at around 5-6 seconds at 1 million digits now. it has been able to get up to something like 4.26 billion numbers so far. as it is an infinite number

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/126

u can test ur cpu too!
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

wait wat? how does it calculate? is it how long it takes or how many numbers it can get in a certain amount of time or waT?
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.