new config - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2004, 11:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

I really wouldn’t worry about it. Like I said, it's a function of the motherboard chipset and not the RAM. It's the MCH that has to interface the CPU and RAM. I hardly see how the RAM sticks would cause conflicts. As long as they are of the same brand/model I don't see any problems.
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

sweet, good to know.

anyways, the mobo on the amd config has changed to the abit av8-3rd eye.

what do you guys think, amd or intel? i'm leaning amd since it's cheaper for me. although, with intel i'd be getting pci-e, which is definetly nice to have.

lay it on me people!!
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

I personally think the PCI-E technology is well worth it. I would love to have that on my motherboard. That way if I choose to use a SCSI card I could get an nice one :P.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

what would be the best p4 mobo? lga 775, 925 chipset, pci-e, etc. i just want to get a more or less equal comarison going.

when will pci-e amd mobo's start coming out?
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Ok I compiled a nice little list for you:

Abit Choice:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-180&depa=1

DFI Choice:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...136-144&depa=1

Gigabyte Choice:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-246&depa=1

Let me know what you think..
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

thanks. the abit one was the one i had already picked out before. i think i'll get that one because the others are a lot mroe expensive.

thanks for your help, though i'm still not sure whether to get intel or amd :-/
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Maybe you better just pick from a hat...
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 12:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

lol, good idea. though i think i'll go with amd unless someone says something either really good about intel or something really bad about amd...
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.