New computer trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2005, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default New computer trouble

i just bought an alienware Area-51 computer.

I connected, my headset, keyboard, screen, and mouse up and turned it on. I customized it a bit, and downloaded the latest nvidia drivers, now what else do i do?

Are there any other drivers or software i need to install or is it already on my computer?

thanks
__________________

flaime is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

chipset drivers are required to get smooth gameplay. Direct X?

It is always a good idea to do a stability test.

Check temperatures to make sure the PC is not any where near the shut-off temperature.

Tidy up the inside of the case.

Get mozila firefox and AVG anti virus.

Sound drivers?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Alienware's high quality man, I'm sure they shipped it with if not new already then pretty new drivers. Of course getting the latest is always good.

Now.. new computer trouble, but you forgot to mention what's the problem.. do you just want to know if you need to update more computer components in order for it to work better?? it's understood that the newer the drivers, usually the better. I've had some hit and misses with nvidia and ati drivers. (catalyst v5.1 sucked on my comp, lost 10F/S permanently on halo, aboot 8F/S off BFV.. yeah. v5.2 was ok though, everything up's fine.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

yeh everything is running ok i just wanna know what else i can/should do.

TRIFID thanks, but how and where can i get the stuff to check my system temperature and stability test?
flaime is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Default

a good software i use is sisoftware sandra. it will tell you all your temps, voltages and so on. another way to check your temps is to check them in your bios setup.
__________________
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.