new computer, transfer files? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Default new computer, transfer files?

Hey there. I just bought a new computer and I was wondering how I could transfer most of the contents of my current harddrive to the new one.

I have about 20gb worth of music, videos, and other files that I want to put into my new computer, but I'm not too sure on the easiest method. I just bought a new 80gb harddrive, so can I use that as sort of a bridge between the two computers? Put it in my current one, transfer the files to it, then put it in my new one permanently?

All help and suggestions would be appreciated, TIA
__________________

eversio11 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

network them? or use an ipod? i dunno that'd be my guess if you dont have a dvd burner
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 178
Default

i used a memory stick...but took forever as it was only a 256mb stick.

whast the best wast to connect two computers side by side? ethernet?
SamBarry is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

you can use an external hard drive. If you don't have one, the easies/best way to do it is to take your old hard drive, plug it in to your new computer (in the 2nd slot) and when you are in windows, just take it from the old one and drag them to the new one. It's really fast...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I built an external 80gb HDD last week and already its been really useful for me and my friends. Already 2 of my friends want to borrow it so they can back up thier files and format and re-install. And yesterday i went over to a friends house and we copied over some movies i had on there. Well worth the money.

Wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 178
Default

if i want to transfer files from HD to another....can i put the two hard drives into one computer and just swap the files through windows? if i can which hard drive would be the primary IDE connection and would i have to disconenct the CD Drive?
SamBarry is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SamBarry
if i want to transfer files from HD to another....can i put the two hard drives into one computer and just swap the files through windows? if i can which hard drive would be the primary IDE connection and would i have to disconenct the CD Drive?
Hello,

Yep. It doesn't matter where you place your drives on the IDE cable, whether it be primary or slave. As long as you specify the drive to boot up from in your BIOS, then your ok.

You won't be able to boot into the second added hard drive (the one which you want to copy files over to) as it won't have the right boot master records. So you'll need to boot into your normal primary drive of that computer. Once in windows, your PC shoud detect the drive, and it's all drag and drop from there . Oh, also don't forget to set the drives switches to primary, slave or cable select.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Leave everything how it is, and if you have a spare IDE connection then use that for the other drive, remembering to set the jumpers properly. If you don't have enough IDE connectors then just remove the CD drive temporarily.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 10:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

i was juss like you 1 month ago
i bought an external enclosure, bought a hard drive
made it into an external hard drive, which cost less than just buying EXTERNAL HD lol (hope you get that)

and for that being, its the best investment for your money
much easier
i have total of 4 computers at home, and its very helpful
and you can carry that around to get movies or so from others

the enclosure should be around $30
you can get it for less, i believe
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i only have 2 computers, but it dont really use it at home coz i have a 100mbit network. I mainly transfer big files from friends computers at lan partys.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.