New computer problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2005, 08:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default New computer problems

hey all,
Just a few days ago i purchased a custom built computer with these specs:
ABIT AN8 ultra moter board PCI express ddr400 socket 939
Athlon 64 3800 socket 939
corsair twinX 2x512 mb 3200
LG burner
Seagate 200gig SATA hardDrive
GeCube X800-XL 256mb PCI express
(those are just the important parts i think, just ask if u need more info)
Well i've installed the game warcraft 3 reign of chaos but for some reason it randomly crashes my computer/restarting it when i play it. Thinking that this may have only happened to this game i tried unreal tournament 2004 demo to see how things went and a similar thing happened except occasionally it crashes to the desktop with an error. I'm gettin really frustrated and i cannot play a game as it restarts my computer randomly during gameplay. I was aiming to get world of warcraft but how the way things are going im not sure what im going to do. Anyone have any idea why this happens and how to fix it? Thanks in advance.

newmanx is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

What is the error?

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
jseber1982's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982

yea what is the error,and is it overheating?
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530

Updated all drivers for everything?
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4

well i've installed the drivers from the cd but how do i update? sorry im pretty new to this.
newmanx is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Check windows update see if it has any newer driver for you. Or go to device manager and then go to the manufacturers web site and see if they have any new drivers for you. If they do install them after that get a program that can monitor heat from you processor and/or video card. It sounds like your Video Card is overheating since it crashes only when playing games.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 05:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

no dont do anything throught windows thats all garbage u go to the individual sites.but i dont think that gonna do it since i beleive you are sayin the your computer shuts down. if this is the case then u probably have the psu that came with the case. that psu is garbage. you dont have enought power man. go get a decnt PSU and u should be set but update drivers first.
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 06:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4

ok cheers for that guys, well ill check out the the site for my radeon card(will i need to go to my motherboards site aswell for any updates?). Also where is device manager? Thanks again
newmanx is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Also, check out my guide to random reboots at the top of this section. That might give you some additional ideas.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 12:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320

test your ram if it gets any errors at all its bad.

Grayfox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.