New Computer/Old Hard drive HELP!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default New Computer/Old Hard drive HELP!!!

Well.. I am thinking of buying a new computer and im wondering that if i put in my old hard drive with windows etc, and say if the hard drive had some corrupt windows files that give bsod's would it corrput my hardware.. ie ram etc
__________________

__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

You can always reformat the hard drive i think.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

but i have tweaked windows loads.. and i mean loads.. and i am getting some bsods.. like loadsa different ones and im not sure if its the hardware or whatever so if it was something to do with the registry or something, would it corrupt my hardware
__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

It won't damage anything at all. If you intend to slave your old Hard Drive in your new PC, alongside a new Hard Drive, then it is fine.

This way, you can install the operating system on the new hard drive (or boot into the pre-installed operating system on the new hard drive), and simply access the files you have on your old drive in windows. When you add new drives to a PC, windows will automatically perform a check on the disk, or a CHKDSK to make sure that damaged sectors are repaired.

The only thing which connecting your old hard drive to the new PC will do is potential infections from viruses, but this applies with all storage mediums. Having said that you should make sure that your old drive is free of any viruses and it's always a good idea to perform a check disk manually if not let windows perform it automatically.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

What Alvin said.

Plus, you won't be able to use the Windows on the old disk because the system configuration won't match up to what Windows knows about your computer.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.