New Computer Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2005, 01:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Question New Computer Help

Processor:
1. [$146.00] AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 512KB L2 Cache, Socket 939 64-bit Processor

Case:
1. [$57.00] Broadway Com Blue ATX Mid Tower Case With 450W PSU & Side Window, Model "712-4HLW-B"

Ram:
2. [$38.67] V-DATA 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200
- [$26.50] V-DATA 184 Pin 256MB DDR PC-3200

Hard Drives:
1. [$45.80] Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
- [$45.80] Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive

CD Drives:
1. [$23.00] Lite-On 16X DVD-ROM, Model SOHD-167T Black
- [$33.00] AOpen Black 52X32X52X16X Combo Drive, Model COM5232/AAP

Motherboard:
2. [$98.00] MSI "K8T NEO2-F" VIA K8T800 Pro Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket 939 CPU

thats the comp i want but i want something less money, like 400, is that possible, i don't play games i just want a computer fater then the computer i have now that can do internet, word, and other programs but fast heres my compo now using CPU-Z

dell demnsion 2400
Intel P4
132.9 MHz front side bus
512kbytes L2 cache
intel chipset
DDR-SDRAM 256 mb 2700
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

U could just whack the RAM in ur Dell up with another stick. That would make the programs faster?
__________________

__________________
http://www.xero-systems.co.uk

I am a partner in the above website, and would be happy to help you configure a fully built PC on a budget. PM me or contact mark@xero-systems.co.uk
smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Alternatively try ebuyer.com? For fast programs such as Word, RAM is much more important than overall processor speed.
__________________
http://www.xero-systems.co.uk

I am a partner in the above website, and would be happy to help you configure a fully built PC on a budget. PM me or contact mark@xero-systems.co.uk
smiffjunior2005 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

get TWO sticks of 512, not 1, and you'll be set
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Some tips to save money:

Get 2 sticks of 256MB RAM, instead of 1x512 and 1x256

Get 1 160GB HDD, instead of 2x80GB

Get 1 DVD burner that burns CDs as well, like a LG 4163B

Get a motherboard with onboard video.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

well i m getting i more 512 4 my dell but i wan 2 build a new comp 2 and i nedd 2 80 gig, thanks for the help but i need 2 80
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Some tips to save money:

Get 2 sticks of 256MB RAM, instead of 1x512 and 1x256

Get 1 160GB HDD, instead of 2x80GB

Get 1 DVD burner that burns CDs as well, like a LG 4163B

Get a motherboard with onboard video.
HE SAID GET ONBOARD VIDEO! HERETIC.. BLASPHEMER!

Don't listen to him, he is only trying to condem your soul to eternal damnation and hellfire!
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 03:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
HE SAID GET ONBOARD VIDEO! HERETIC.. BLASPHEMER!

Don't listen to him, he is only trying to condem your soul to eternal damnation and hellfire!
Why the hell would you say something like that!? Onboard video is fine if you dont play games. *Shakes head*
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Actuallty, it would be advisable to get a cheap video card even for normal purposes. An integrated on takes up system ram and (I thin) CPU time. Get a cheap server card. They are less than $35 US at newegg. Make sure it can do 32 bit color in whatever res you want to run (never now with cards this cheap). Yes, get 2x256 or 2x512 sticks. Try this mobo, it can do dual channel and comes from what I beleive is a reputable company. If you go for that, make sure youget a cheap AGP card; this mobo doesn't have onboard video.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Ya it does take up some RAM, but it wont be very noticeable. If you can, get a super cheap vid card.

But, using onboard video isnt all that bad. In fact I am on a computer at school right now that uses onboard video, with 512MB RAM, and it runs quite well. As a matter of fact, my friend down the row is playing WoW with the exact same computer as mine.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.