New Computer Build Question Video Error - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2005, 03:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

lol oh great
__________________

mathwizard314 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 03:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mathwizard314
You may have seen my former post about video display problems - well, I figured out it had to do with the CPU. Two pins broke off of it. However, I plugged it in correctly this time to the motherboard and it appears as if the computer is starting as it should? Is it fine then? Is the processor going to be slow since it has two pins missing? Before I stuck the processor back in, I put two metal wires into the empty holes where the missing pins would have been placed. The BIOS is detecting the processor properly and it's formatting the hard drive as we speak.

My question is - is the processor ok and is this safe? Is the performance going to be hindered by missing two pins? Thank you for your assistance!
The processor is defiantly not safe
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 03:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yea its really not safe to do that i mean still how did you do that if it came like that, take it back the compay will have to send you a new one.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 04:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

well im not sure exactly how it happened - i pulled the processor out of the socket to insure it was installed right (since i could never get it to display properly) and i looked at the pins and two were barely hanging on (as soon as i touched them to try to correct them a bit they fell off). Should I take it back out and try to send back the processor to NewEgg?

Also, when you say it's unsafe, what exactly is it capable of doing? A fire or burning out other components?

Thank you again for all of your help with this.
mathwizard314 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 04:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yes a fire will start and burn your computer and everything in it. Yes Newegg will take it back.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 04:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

k should i shut it down then and call newegg?
mathwizard314 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 04:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yea
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 04:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

alright, done - they'll be contacting me with RMA stuff
mathwizard314 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 04:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

thank you again for all of your help
__________________

mathwizard314 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.