new computer--any advice appreciated - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2005, 04:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for your thoughts.
Major breakthrough!!!

I was searching around my bios...looking into some of the ideas that folks had offered.
There is a setting there that allows the memory setting to be “set by SPD” (I don’t know what ‘SPD’ is—my mobo manual doesn’t say, either...any thoughts???)...the other option is ‘auto’. I changed this setting from ‘auto’ to ‘SPD’. I also changed my clock speed to 166 because (as I have been corrected on) the AMD 2800 (yes, 2.08ghz, NOT 2.8ghz as I had originally thought) DOES NOT have a 400mhz fsb, it runs (as people wiser than myself have pointed out) at 333mhz fsb.

Lo and behold, the comp booted right up, no problems whatsoever. The startup system info still says “cpu of unknown type”, but the speed is correct. System info also reports that the ram is running at 200mhz, but I think that’s just because of the type of ram it is (Corsair DDR 1gb PC3200xl rt).

At this point I need to put it through its paces recording digital audio. I will do this as soon as I get my old comp ready to give to my parents, which is where it’s headed.

The comp doesn’t really seem to be loading programs or running much faster than it had been (running an AMD Athlon 1800, 768mb sdram on an Epox board), but I don’t think I should really be expecting ‘leaps and bounds’ above and beyond the speed I was seeing with the old system. The main thing I was hoping to get from an ‘upgraded’ system was stability. I was starting to see ‘dropouts’ (that’s what Cakewalk—my audio interface—calls them. Not quite ‘crashes’, but close) with the older system, as my recorded audio files got larger and more cumbersome for my old comp.

At this point, I don’t think I’ll feel gypped if I get the stability I was searching for. I also have yet to make all the tweaks to Win XP that digital audio aficionados make to our machines. Faster would be nicer though...

We’ll see...

Thanks again for all your thoughts.
Tom
__________________

ThomwkIV is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 04:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

have fun with that!


heh......
__________________

__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 09:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
Negative, it does NOT run @ 400, I had to double check that myself when I posted above, heres newegg:

That is the barton.
Yeah agreed - only the XP Barton runs at 400FSB, but the original post didn't specify what the core was, and therefore didn't specify that it WASN'T a Barton.
Samm is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I am such a newb...

Samm...
I have to apologize...

YOU actually suggested the 'SPD' setting a few posts back...
I need to pay more attention to the info that gurus give me...
Thanks again.

So far the systems working, as far as playing my tunes (info out). I have to sit down and record something to see how it handles info in.

And, yes, it is NOT a Barton. Should've specified that in my initial post...

Thanks Samm.
Tom
ThomwkIV is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Misinformation again...

It is a Barton. It does not run at 400mhz fsb. The AMD Athlon XP 3000+ (Barton) runs at 400mhz fsb.

Should've spent a few dollars more (although my 'other half' was a little 'wowed' by what I was spending for this system)...

I don't think I could've justified the additional $$$ to her...


In life, there are trade offs...
Tom
ThomwkIV is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 03:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Ah well, good luck with it.
Samm is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Do you mean the computer or the 'other half' .


Thanks again....
Tom
__________________

ThomwkIV is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.