new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2005, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 91
Default new computer

hey i am trying to build a gaming computer for around $1000-$1300 and i was wondering what everyone thinks I should get for everything...any good suggestions will be appreciated

thx
__________________

crazyeightballa is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Case (i like thermaltakes and lian-li's)
amd 64 venice 3200+
dfi lanparty ultra-d
eVGA 6800GT
seagate 7200.8 200GB SATA HDD
1 gig (2x512mb) OCZ platinum EL Rev2's
NEC 3510A dvd-rw
OCZ powerstream 500W

that's pretty much the best setup for your money

also, do you plan on overclocking?

not only will this system be great for games, you can also OC the hell outta it once you more experience
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 91
Default

yea probably if i could
crazyeightballa is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Get the Venice 3500+.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 91
Default

i might be wrong, im new to building comp's but isnt 2.0 GHz not very much?
crazyeightballa is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 91
Default

whats the difference between +3200 and +3500, is it worth $70 more
crazyeightballa is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Yeah, lol. 3500 Runs at an Intel 3.5 GHz. 2.0 GHz is the AMD's speed.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

do you have any experience putting together your own comp?

the only hard part is that you gotta put on the cpu and then apply thermal paste and put on fan

just add a zalman 7700cu fan (around $50) to that setup along with a tube of arctic silver 5 ($8 or so) and you can reach a 1ghz increase easily
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 91
Default

my friend is gonna put it together ffor me, he knows how to put em together but i wanna second opinion on parts
crazyeightballa is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the 3200+ will perform similar to 3.2Ghz Intel in processing and other stuff

in games, well, let's just say these 3200+ will beat any intel you throw at it (yes, it's even better than those Intel extreme edition 3.7ghz that costs $1000+)

and they only cost $229 (retail box, you get 3 year warranty this way)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.