new CD drive not visible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Question new CD drive not visible

Hello all
I just stuck a new CD drive in my laptop, but it's not visible on windows explorer (XP, sp2, 2.4GHz pentium). Can ya help?

:grind:
__________________

tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

You may need to install drivers for it. Is it visible in the device manager?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

What cd drive did you get ?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

the drive is a teac, and I was advised in this forum that no drivers would be needed!
__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

what is the model of it.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tarantulatarama
the drive is a teac, and I was advised in this forum that no drivers would be needed!
Every CD-ROM device needs drivers. Who would advise that it doesn't and why would this case be an exception? Maybe I am out of the loop or maybe you were advised that there are already pre-installed drivers in Windows and most likely would not need to spend time installing them from a disk or downloading them. Anyways did the drive come with a drivers disk?

Here you might find the drivers here:

http://www.cdrom-drivers.com/companies/1030.htm

Plus: Did Windows detect new hardware when you first on your laptop after installing the new device? Also did you make sure all the cables are connected firmly?
hu_xu is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

like mentioned from above, all device need a driver, but windows provide most of it, and of course there can be exception. (probably more if you are a laptop)

you should have a floppy that comes with the new drive, right? use the detect new hardware function in windows and use that floppy for driver

hope it helps.
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 09:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

it's a teac cd-w224e, for a laptop -

http://www.teac.de/dspd/index.php?co...0&id=3&lang=en

I can't see a driver on the teac site...

For the benefit of anyone in my position, and for the opportunity of debating the point, here is the dialogue which happened:

Me: "Do I need drivers for a new cd-rw drive?"

Him: "No way man, cd rom drivers never need drivers."

Me: "My concern is that when booting from a disc, it is performed before windows loads. Does DOS have drivers for all cd drives?"

Him: "You are all set. All new BIOS's support ATAPI devices (your cd rom) and will give it the basic drivers to get it to work. When you load Windows, the more advanced features will work."

...Any more ideas?
__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 09:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

...also, it is not showing up in the device manager.
__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hu_xu
Every CD-ROM device needs drivers. Who would advise that it doesn't and why would this case be an exception?
What the person probably meant was that Windows would have a driver for it, thus you wouldn't need a CD or disk with the drivers.

Anywho, make sure the drive is showing up, first off.

1. Go into the device manager and see if you see it listed.
2. Go into diskmgmt.msc and see if you see it listed.
3. If the drive is listed in both places, chances are it's just got its letter confused. Re-assign it a different letter in diskmgmt.msc and see what happens.
4. If that still doesn't work, remove the drive, remove it from the device manager, give it a stern lecture and stick it back in.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.