New build -- many problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2004, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default New build -- many problems

I had a computer building buddy put a system together ordered through newegg, and basically the thing won't read a signal to do anything. The specs are:

Antec case with seperate Antec 430 watt power supply
AMD 64 3200 processor
K8T Neo-FIS2R ATX Motherboard, Socket 754 For 64-bit AMD
ATI X800 pro
GB Mushkin 222 special ram PC3200
160 GB Seagate ST3160023AS SATA Hard drive
DVD|LITE ON 16X SOHD-167T
COMBO 52x32x52|SMSUNG SM-352NENB%BK

We've run out of ideas... I will have to send a Chaintech mobo back and I have replaced it with a K8T Neo-FIS2R ATX Motherboard, because the chainteck nForce3 250 was giving errors. The new mobo is giving no errors but with no signal to the monitor, I can't do anything.

It's like the mobo is not reading the AGP slot... but on both motherboards? The video card was replaced with a working one with no luck. Still no signal to monitor, and neither have onboard video.

Also the hard drive will not come on most of the time. Only one in about 7 tries.

The cd drives only word if the cable is unplugged to them. They are pointless as they are now only ejectable coasters.

As you can see I'm desperate to find any info. Is their anything we may have overlooked during the build? I can't load bios or anything else with no signal, and the monitor works fine.
__________________

Pooka is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default

Ensure that the AGP support is enabled in the BIOS and if it's an integrated MOBO.
__________________

bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default

cant get into bios. It will not send a signal to the monitor to read anything. Tried the two very good mobos mentioned above.
Pooka is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default

is it possible you fried the slot or the card when installing it? Rare but I've seen it happen.
bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default

No, neither mobos will read the card signal while the card worls. I wouldn't figure both mobos AGP slots to be bad.
Pooka is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default

which is why i said possibly the card may have gotten zapped. Have you tried your old video card?
bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default

yep
Pooka is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 10:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default

bump
Pooka is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 10:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

ok, i had a simiar problem take a PCI video card and put that in. i had a prb with my agp card. once i got windows loaded, i put the agp card in and no problems, try that if it doesnt work, then you have a biggger problem on your hands
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 07:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Try and limit the Periphrials unplug remove anything thats not needed .Basicly AGP 1 HD 1 CD drive.Check the extra power conector to the AGP make sure its conected securely.Make sure the MB is not grounding out anywhere .Check your memory moduals make sure there seated properly and in the correct slots.
Is your CPU fan spinning when you power on?
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.