New Build First Timer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default New Build First Timer

Okay, I think I will start by giving you all of my pc specs:
MSI 865PE Neo 2 P Motherboard
Intel 3.0 800 FSB
512 Kingston Ram
Chaintech Nvidia Geforce 5500FX
USB
IEEE Firewire Card
Compro VideoMate TV Ultra
Seagate 160GB 7200 NCQ Sata
NEC DVD REWRITTABLE
Sony CD Rewrittable
Asiapro case and power supply rated as such:
450 Watts, +3.3V & 5V=230W
+3.3V, 28A
5V, 50A
12V, 18A

Here is my problem and excuse me if this is the wrong forum. My computer frequently during startup and during activity such as installing and removing hardware my cpu will freeze up. Mind that this is a new build by a first timer. I believe I am running so much stuff and I have a lousy power supply. Immediately after Windows I loaded System Mechanic 5 Pro and it seemed when the cpu started up, all the utilities that immediately ensued were too much for the cpu and it just freezes, the mouse can move, control alt delete does nothing. Any help would be much appreciated.
Brett
__________________

goony is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Reinstall Windows while you are not connected to the internet, and see if you have the same problems.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 03:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I wasn't on the internet during install. The windows program is pirated and we skipped missing files (works fine on my roommates cpu). Could it be software?
goony is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: New Build First Timer

Quote:
Originally posted by goony
My computer frequently during startup and during activity such as installing and removing hardware my cpu will freeze up.
Your PC freezes if you install and remove hardware because yourt not supposed to do it while your PC is on :freak:
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Try a fresh install with the bear minimum hardware,then add your hardware accessories one by one to determine where the problem lies.It is possible you tried to install to many things at once.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

While it is on!?!?! Thank you for your very enlightening and well thought out response. Of course I didn't take hardware in and out while it was on, don't take everything for face value, I meant the software. Thank you for the response though.
Brett
__________________

goony is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.