New box - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2004, 07:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Better late than never:

CPU: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80181-R

MotherBoard: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=240405

Memory: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...tCode=80098-22

HardDrive: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=100718

Graphics Card: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=320758

DVD/CD-RW: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=172454

Floppy: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=111001

Total: $1057.98 (2 day shipping by UPS which is free...i like free)

I know you wanted a NVidia, but this card us wayyyyy better. I also got the floppy and dvd/cd-rw drive with black front faces to match your case....the CPU will give you the best bang for the buck, and 1gb of ram will give you plenty. With the Asus motherboard I'm sure you can overclock it...the harddrive is only 7,200 RPM and not 10,000 RPM because the 10,000 RPM hd's were only made by Wester Digital (I highly dislike them, they make cheap-o drives). I'm sure you can do better, but I put that PC together in 15 minutes. Go to newegg.com and I'm sure that you'll find some better deals also, but it don't get much better than what I just posted. Hope that gives you an idea of what you need.
__________________

__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 07:49 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Looks good..thanks
__________________

AoLH8er is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 07:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FireFox
Better late than never:

CPU: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80181-R

MotherBoard: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=240405

Memory: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...tCode=80098-22

HardDrive: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=100718

Graphics Card: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=320758

DVD/CD-RW: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=172454

Floppy: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=111001

Total: $1057.98 (2 day shipping by UPS which is free...i like free)

I know you wanted a NVidia, but this card us wayyyyy better. I also got the floppy and dvd/cd-rw drive with black front faces to match your case....the CPU will give you the best bang for the buck, and 1gb of ram will give you plenty. With the Asus motherboard I'm sure you can overclock it...the harddrive is only 7,200 RPM and not 10,000 RPM because the 10,000 RPM hd's were only made by Wester Digital (I highly dislike them, they make cheap-o drives). I'm sure you can do better, but I put that PC together in 15 minutes. Go to newegg.com and I'm sure that you'll find some better deals also, but it don't get much better than what I just posted. Hope that gives you an idea of what you need.

WD does make pretty crappy drives, I've heard nothing but good thigns about their 10000 rpms though - just a tad expensive for me.
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

When I build computers I usually go for AMD, never had a problem with it, in fact the computer I am on now uses the 2400+ and hasn't had a problem in more than a year and a half now.

At this point its all about price though.
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 10:00 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
WD does make pretty crappy drives, I've heard nothing but good thigns about their 10000 rpms though - just a tad expensive for me.
That's because they are all new....just give them a little time and they'll break...
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 10:02 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

I use WD and have never had a problem with any of my HDD, but I have heard a lot of ppl have issues with them. Guess I am just lucky.
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 10:24 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shroud
I use WD and have never had a problem with any of my HDD, but I have heard a lot of ppl have issues with them. Guess I am just lucky.
I used to have a WD in my old computer - my athlon 1.3 and I never had a problem with it either- then I sold it and three days later the guy told me about it - I still owe him 50.00 to replace it.
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 12:18 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

ok, i just need to set something strait... tylerthebot, you dont need to to quote the person you are replying to everytime you post, there is a reason the button at the bottom says reply post. It is given that when you post something it is in reference to the last post. Quotes work well for things that were posted earlier or to comment on a certain thing someone else said. There is no need for you to quote the previous persons entire entree just to reply everytime. Just wanted to set that strait, i was getting tired of reading the same entry twice everytime he replied
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:31 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

haha burn ur money
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:32 AM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

if u buy the athlon 64fx that is, its a total waste of money if u asked me... hmm
__________________

cheerios is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.