New AMD System *Video card* - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 11:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Re: New AMD System *Video card*

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Here is te best video card you will get for your budget:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121511
The ones you listed really suck. The above one is the best you can get for your price range. Period.
He listed a 9550

9600Pro is the best card but slightly over budget. 9550 is the second best choice as this card overclocks nicely
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 12:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Ya but the one he listed only has 64-bit memory, which is severly crippling to any type of gaming. The one I listed fits his budget and has 128-bit memory.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 12:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Save your money, build your own PC.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

The 9600Pro is a surprisingly good card. I suggest that because of your budget. My freind has almost the exact same system as this will probably be, A64 2800+, 512MB DDR400, 9600 Pro, and he can run HL2 on the highest settings no problem.

The 9600Pro will be the best card of the ones listed.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to Riff-Raff
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Save your money, build your own PC.
Umm I am building my own PC I have everythign but a video card and a HD. NBOw for the HD what is SATA, IDE? I want a basic one. I have been told BIgger slower. Smaller faster. I was also told to get a 40 gig. (I will never fill it up) That true?
Riff-Raff is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Not true. I have a 40 gig hard drive and I am constantly cleaning it out and removing unused programs, reformating every few months or so. Get at least a 120 gig hard drive.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Go for a Radeon 9700 Pro from ebay. around $63.50 right now. or you can get a GeForce 6200 depending on the price.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 05:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to Riff-Raff
Default

OK im getting the 9700 PRO from ebay but it's just the card. I need to know what Cord this is.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...Card%20-%20OEM

The one that is yello,yellow,black,black,red,red With 3 plugs.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------
----0000---0000-----------00000-----00000----00000-
---0 ------0---0-----------0---0-----0---------0----0
--0---000--0---0-----------00000-----00000----0-----0
--0-----0--0---0-----------0----------0--------0-----0
---00000---0000-----------0----------00000----00000
Riff-Raff is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 05:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

It looks like some kind of power plug? You better hurry, only 20 minutes left...
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 05:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It is a molex connector, plugs into a molex connector from your PSU, then into the card via the other molex, and then into a FDD drive it looks like.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.