New AGP To PCI-E adapter card!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2005, 03:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275

ah nice!!

great find Nubius...

i was starting to kick myself for purchasing that ol' AGP card and mobo...but now i see i may still have a future yet!!

i can still get some life out of my AGP card for a little bit yet...

now......if only i can find someone to buy my Asus A8V deluxe board...

\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

hmmm... I'm thinking about the actually height of this bridge and a current AGP card.

Think about the size of a PCI slot on the back of a PC case. It's just big enough to fit the end of a single card. Now add that AGP to PCIx bridge to it. Now your adding another what 2-3 Inches? How will that fit? In one of my cases i don't use screws to facen the PCI cards, i have a special plastic bracket the clips down over all of the cards and holds then in place.

I'm not sure how this might fit a lot of cases... hmmm... i'd like to see some size specs...

HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

yeah my case is the same havoc, with the plastic clips.....oh well, I'll spend $5 modding my case so that I don't have to spend $100 n trying to sell my AGP card for cheaper than I bought it then have to turn around and buy a more expensive PCI-E couter part
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

wouldn't it decrease the performance somewhat..maybe a little bit?

I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

not if they make it right
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

doesn't matter, you were gonna go 6800GT regardless

I was actually originally planning to wait for the G70 to come out which would result in massive price drops of the 6800GT but I've gotten sick of waiting for things.
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth

Hmm, anyone know where this can be bought??

What happens if you don't have a small video card like they show in the picture??

This would be really handy for me while I am in wait for the next generation of video cards...

Anyone know??


XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

i dont know, id be real uncomfortable with that in my case. its a bit like those massive heatsinks...

Hope it works, and nice find!

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

don't even know if it's out yet or 6800GT with the MAZE4 on it is pretty heavy as it is......I couldn't imagine it being taller and then even more weight would be off it's center of gravity and it'd seem like it'd just want to snap that board that fits into the PCI-E slot..........I'd love to have one though assuming my card still fit in my case and it worked 100% without any loss in performance.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 09:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198

yeah thats another point, to see if there is a loss in performance

contry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.