New AGP To PCI-E adapter card!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 07:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Exclamation New AGP To PCI-E adapter card!!

http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=2202&s=1

Hell yeah! if it turns out to be any good maybe I can indeed get a DFI Ultra-D board after all! This is cool! Don't know about the company though 'Albatron" has never been a top knotch brand as far as I know of, but we'll see!
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

That would kind of suck if you didn't have much room in the case.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah I know, that's what I"m wondering, not only that, but like....the weight of my MAZE4 GPU water block is pretty freakin heavy dude, especially because I got the brass top....I think I'd have to make some sort of brace so that the thing doesn't either snap my card or that adaptor out of it's slot =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Now your even losing more space after you have to make a brace for it
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

nah, because the brace would go on the top....if anything I'd just slap a ziptie around the beeotch and then have the zip tie wrap around the top bar that goes across near the top of my case......


also..........go to bed shumway! don't be a night owl like me

Bout to hit it myself, just had to watch a samurai champloo episode, and now I'm off....freakin 5am here
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
also..........go to bed shumway! don't be a night owl like me

Bout to hit it myself, just had to watch a samurai champloo episode, and now I'm off....freakin 5am here
I'm alway's up just about 24/7 And it's only 8:20 here so i can't go to bed for a while,Maybe around 2 or 3
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i would think that that card thingy wouldnt work with a full size graphics card
it would make it too long to fit in the expansion bay area
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

and I would think that they would be smart enough to take that into consideration....it wouldn't be too long, just tall which is what shumway and I were talking about
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

And of course this thing pops up days after I sell my AGP card. :P
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

doesn't matter, you were gonna go 6800GT regardless

It'll be perfect for someone like me, buuuuut I gotta see some reviews and whatnot first....use that for a year or more, already have a PCI-E board and then can get a PCI-E card, that'd be awesome
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.