new 500gb ext hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default new 500gb ext hdd

I'm looking for a 500gb external hdd. Anyone know where I can find a great/inexpensive one?
__________________

__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: new 500gb ext hdd

Newegg.com - Western Digital My Book Essential WDG1U5000N 500GB 7200 RPM USB 2.0 External Hard Drive - Retail
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Re: new 500gb ext hdd

Newegg just jacked the price on it to 140, probly about 150 with shipping. Has anyone bought from grassrootscomputers.com, or ecost.com?
__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Re: new 500gb ext hdd

I a 500gb mybook WD essential from grassrootscomputers and it should be here friday, but I was wondering what I should do about the software on it. I know I will have to format it to NTFS, but there is some software on the hdd. I was wondering if I should just do a complete format and take off absolutely all of the WD software off of it. I thought of this because the software may cause some errors or problems that could shorten the life of it.
__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
How to install HDD image onto new HDD smurph Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-09-2007 01:43 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.