new 2ms 120hz montior still blurry? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2012, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Question new 2ms 120hz montior still blurry?

I got his BenQ XL2410T Monitor with 2ms and 120mz. After calibration...got 120hz on...go the AMA on (Benq's blurr control thingy), tried some games+video and my blurring is just as bad as it was on my 8 yo old 23ms 60hz ACER monitor.

On the box it says it works with NVIDIA 3D. And comes with "nvidia drivers" to install. I didn't use these because my WinXP auto-installed the monitor and picked a driver and I don't have a nvidia graphics card...these are my specs:

I have "Intel Graphics media accelerator" so I think that's a graphics chip.

Display adapters: Intel(r) G33/G31.
Processor: Pentium dual core CPU E5200 @ 2.5GHZ.
OS: Windows xp.

Would a graphics card or using the drivers that came with the monitor make a big difference with the blurring? Or are all LCDs really just still as blurry as they've always been and the 'response time' thing doesn't really mean anything?
__________________

ryan7777 is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: new 2ms 120hz montior still blurry?

I don't think its your monitor, I think its the fact that you're using on-board graphics.

If you have a video card laying around I'd try it with that.
Or if you don't, bring it to a friend's house that does and check it on their computer.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: new 2ms 120hz montior still blurry?

Or that he doesn't have proper drivers for it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 12:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: new 2ms 120hz montior still blurry?

The only drivers that came with the monitor say "NVIDIA drivers for Gforce graphics card".
I figured if i didn't have a graphics card I wouldn't need those drivers. I don't know what other drivers I would try.

I do happen to have a Geforce card in my old computer but it's from 2001. ASUS GeForce2mx AGP-v7100...I assume even the Intel chip is more powerful than this by now.

About the need to test with a graphics card...would that blur without a card apply to everything? Including just scrolling text, because that's blurry too and I figured that's not a really graphics intensive thing, same with Youtube videos. That's why I thought it had to be the screen.
ryan7777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a good montior? DayDays Media System Upgrades 4 04-18-2011 12:42 PM
monitor terminology, 2ms(GTG) drewjustforyou Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-14-2009 07:10 AM
Program to montior PC Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-09-2007 12:08 PM
LCD Screens 2ms Vs 4ms Brindle System Upgrades 5 08-15-2006 11:22 AM
montior help chevyss Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-25-2005 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.